We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does the job”
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Altoona
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It does the job”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

It has everything that you need. Not that flashy or new but it's cheap, clean and conveniently located. At the end of the day it is an older Motel 6, don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
Be sure to check out the Eat'n Park next door. It's a decent feed and their breakfast buffet is worth a mention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ET8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
43
36
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ajax
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It is one thirty in the am on a Thursday and we are half way to Virginia. A previous search of the internet showed that about one half the hotels / motels in Altoona were booked. The first one we viewed from the highway was motel 6 which I had never stayed at before.

Finally finding its entrance, it is a very large motel with many units (100+) and very few occupied we were told that a room was available for the reasonable price of $50. I had hoped to check my email and found that it was (I believe $3.99) for a twenty four hour period. As we were leaving by seven in the am it was not worth it.

I had asked for a quiet room as it is very close to the interstate so we were given a key and directed to the back of the third building, farthest from the office, with only one other car next door.

On opening the door we found what we had paid the $50 for, two beds, heat, a functional bathroom, grey walls, no decor, but all the basics.

Shortly after getting settled there was a commotion next door, the "lady" exited very quickly and drove off very fast. She did not return.

Service at the desk was quick and efficient, the units were quite presentable from the out side and all parking areas were well lit.

It was very quiet, we were gone at seven am but learned a lesson that for an extra $10 or 20 per night it was well worth paying the extra some where else. There was no breakfast but a couple of reputable restaurants within eye sight.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet and away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Beacon, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here about 2 months ago. I heard from others who stayed here that room 102 is haunted. So I rented the room and took all my video equipment with me. I recorded for approx 8 hours of film footage. I didnt see anything with the naked eye so that morning, I left the room and headed home.

Last week, I decided to view the tape out of sheer boredom. Well, to my surprise, all through the tape were ORBS. I was dumb-founded. I could not believe what I was seeing. If you are into ghost hunting, room 102 is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The staff is very kind and the rooms are clean, but small. The only fascilities are beds, toilet and bathtube, a/c, tv-set (older) with remote, towels and soap. No shampoo, no coffe maker, no fan, no fridge. Compared to other chain motels to few for the money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander170844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is the first Motel 6 I've ever stayed at. Quite frankly they usually scare me, but the reviews led us to give this one a try, and are we ever glad we did.

Hotel is clean, rooms are big and cheap. We got 2 rooms with 2 queen size beds for under $120 on a friday night, you can't beat that. Also It's right off the interstate, and there are lots of restaurants close by.

The pool was closed when we were there, but it was October. The book in the room said it was only open till the beginning of September.

The only negative was the lack of free WiFi. If you want it the charge is 3 dollars a night, not a lot, but enough to make you think if you really want it. We pulled in late and left early so no real reason to purchase it. Plus there was a few restaurants in the area that offered it free.

I almost forgot. They have the friendliest, most courtious front desk staff I have ever encountered. They where great.

Overall I was very impressed, and will now look at other Motel 6's as well. I've always been a Super 8 man, but if other 6's are like this, I'll stay there in a flash.

Room Tip: Ponderosa Steak House down the street offers a cheap breakfest buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank numptylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Honestly, I can't complain at all about this motel. I was prepared for a dump because of the price but was very pleasantly surprised! It wasn't elaborate like the expensive motels, of course, but it was roomy, clean, and comfortable. Plus the location was right near shopping and restaurants. And the staff was very pleasant as well. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've been staying at this motel for several years when I'm in this area. I have never had any major complaints. It’s clean.... (Although may last visit had a french fry under the desk, and a closed beer in the dresser draw, that was the first time I've seen anything like that at this motel). Originally I was planning on giving this motel "two stars", until I saw 2=Poor, I can't say its poor, but, for the price, the competition, and the fact the rooms haven't been updated in many, many years, it an honorary 2 Stars in my opinion. The price is usually higher then other (and newer) Motel 6's. The motels in the Altoona area can be pricey due to area events, but I still don't think $50+ for the rooms are worth the price. Some other chain motels are similar in price and include breakfast. Overall, I will stay here again, the friendly staff is reliable, and it’s clean enough to have a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RailfanMotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
799 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
419 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Property: Motel 6 Altoona
Address: 1500 Sterling St, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602-2828
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing