We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable, and overall excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

From the moment I walked into the lobby, I was impressed with this hotel. It's beautifully decorated with an emphasis on comfort. The staff was friendly, my room was clean and well-appointed. I especially appreciated the shower! There were several free extras, that I am used to paying for - namely water and a snack in my room, and a delicious breakfast. The fitness room had gym-grade equipment, and was truly created to be a fitness room (not just a treadmill tossed into a large closet). There were towels, a water cooler, and a flat screen TV. The hotel is on a strip within walking distance to many famous chain restaurants. It was an all-around wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We receive many compliments on our showers. In fact, they are so popular that they are available for purchase through the Holiday Inn Express brand website. I am also pleased to hear that you found our complimentary water and snacks, fitness center and overall comfort to be to your liking. We hope to see you on many return trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 459 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

We are staying in the Holiday Inn Express. The staff are great at check-in and they gave us tips regarding local establishments (like Planet Fitness and many restaurants) that offer discounts to HIE guests. We have a suite with a 42" TV, computer, printer, blu-ray player, etc. and breakfast is free. All around a great value. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S&A_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

I am very pleased to hear that you are happy with the quality provided by our hotel and staff. I am also very pleased to hear that you would stay with us again. Should you need anything during your stay or on a return trip please do not hesitate to contact myself, or a member of our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel prior to the Penn State vs. Purdue football game. The staff at this hotel were absolutely delightful from the moment we entered the door. Being from out of town, we knew we needed to find a place to have dinner, but when we checked into the hotel, we were told we were welcome to join the "tailgate." This hotel had LOTS of great food, alcoholic/non-alcoholic beverages, and activities for all the guests of the entire hotel to enjoy... all without an additional cost ... AMAZING ... we just stayed at the hotel versus venturing out to a restaurant! The room was very clean. We highly recommend this place, and if we return for another football battle vs. Penn State, we'll stay here for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura31882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for saying such kind things about our hotel. I am very happly to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Customer service is always at the top of our list and it is always nice to hear that it is appreciated. We intend to continue the pre-game tailgate parties next year, please let us know if you have any suggestions. We hope to see you again on November 22 & 23rd of 2013 when Penn State is once again host to Purdue! Thank you again for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I spent two nights at the hotel due to a family emergency. The staff was exceptional, especially Bonnie and Ryan. They were caring and made a difficult experience less stressful. I can't thank them enough for their help and patience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

I am glad that we were able to assist you during a very stressful time. I have shared your kind remarks with Bonnie and Ryan, both of whom recall you and hope you are well. Should you need us again, please do not hesitate to call. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Two nights in Altoona for business. This is my third business trip in 26 years. I wasn't looking forward to it and didn't know what to expect from Holiday Inn. My family stayed in Holiday Inn motels when I was a kid almost 40 years ago and I always rememeber good times.
The hotel was much more than I expected. Quick check in with a very friendly staff; clean, QUIET, updated room; VERY comfortable bed; and a strong shower with hot water made my stay very easy and comfortable. The hot breakfast was good and there was always plenty to choose from .
I will be returning to Altoona over the next few months and will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: My room was at the far end of the second floor rear corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsd685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

I am thrilled with how happy you were with the quality provided by our hotel. When traveling, little things really do matter. No place is ever as good as your own home but we strive to be a close 2nd :) We look forward to seeing you on your return trips. If you find a room that you really like, don't hesitate to request that room when you make your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is friendly, professional and helpful, the rooms are well appointed, quiet and beds are wonderful. Complimentary breakfast was very good and having coffee available at all times at the desk is a nice convenience. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2dogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be caring anf helpful, and that the amenities offered were to your liking. We hope to see you on a return trip. We will keep the coffee fresh and ready for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is an old Holiday Inn updates somewhat but still feels like a 1970s Holiday Inn. It is convenient to restaurants and easy to get to from 99. Rooms were clean but not the best layout.

Room Tip: Staff was very friendly. Only 45 minutes to PSU
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

You are correct. We were not recently built as a Holiday Inn, but rather the first in PA to be converted to the NEW Holiday Inn Express. Older features such as oversized rooms and tiled bathrooms are still found at our hotel. New ammenities such as top of the line bedding, FREE WI-FI, flat screen TV's, and refrigerator microwave combos are also found in each room. We have also added a built in BBQ and putting green for our guests. Several other updates, that we are very excited to launch, are also on the way. Our tech savy travelers will soon be able to access their rooms by using their smart phones! We hope to see you on a return trip, and look forward to showing you our continuous upgrades. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
429 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
827 reviews
1.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#11 of 15 in Altoona
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 3306 Pleasant Valley Blvd, Altoona, PA 16602 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $67 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at Quality Inn & Suites - Altoona, PA is designed so that you can relax. We know that all you really need is a place to be yourself. Contemporary hospitality and our friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Altoona Hotel Altoona
Holiday Inn Altoona
Altoona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing