We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Hometown Diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom & Joe's Restaurant

Tom & Joe's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 162 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
338 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Classic Hometown Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I live in Altoona and eat breakfast here about twice a month on the weekends. You can't miss with the cheese omlett! The atmosphere is busy and hectic. The servers are 1st rate. Yes, at times they may get a little short and the cook is yelling across the room when the orders are ready but that's part of the reason we go and love it. These servers are working hard to make your order right. If you are tired of the cookie cutter chains and want a real place, with real food and real people - this is for you. I get a gift card for my boyfriend each year for his stocking and always bring my out-of-town visitors to experience this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    47
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Get the point!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Servers are abrasive because it is part of the fun!! Pay attention!! Its not Tiffanys!! Its a down town diner!!! Cmon people doesnt take a doctorate to figure out its part of the fun. Food us awesome!! Get a mess!! Then see a cardiologist!! Oh wait. He's sitting beside you because it's that great. Cmon folks, live a bit. Uptight is wat kills you!! Not butter!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Obviously a popular place, but probably wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food was good, but the service was very slow. Most likely because they had one person covering one huge room. She seemed very rushed and wasn't the most friendly person. Actually she was kind of abrasive.
Like a previous reviewer stated, we made the comment that we felt like we were in a 70's sitcom.
The food portions are large. But good.
It is a true diner. Don't go unless you honestly understand what a true diner is. It's not fancy by any means and it's real America.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMH1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad I Went for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I heard the food was great. Why did I take so long to go visit?

I always get breakfast when I go there, and its good all day long. The atmosphere is what you'd expect from a busy hometown restaurant. Its a bustling place with the great smells of a good restaurant.

Everything that can be fried on a grill will be on the menu at Tom and Joe's. Very sizeable portions too. Its a good value. The people are great, the service is fast, food is delicious and even the coffee is good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MWalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Diner food, diner atmosphere, good food, great prices, always entertaining, a must visit if you are in downtown Altoona.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALTOONASHAWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom & Joe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom & Joe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing