We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Find”
Review of Allegro Ristorante

Allegro Ristorante
Ranked #33 of 166 Restaurants in Altoona
Price range: $12 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Serving fine dining Italian cuisine since 1978! We've got the best recipes for good times - anytime. With homemade Italian specialties sure to please every appetite... fresh seafood, veal, steaks, homemade pasta, chicken, and more. Early dinner for two special and family-style dining for groups available. Reservations welcome, not required.
North Potomac
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Nice Find”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had dinner at Allegro at the recommendation of someone who is local. What a nice surprise. The service was lovely and friendly. The restaurant is old world Italian. We had a lovely salad to start, meatballs which were very tasty which the table shared and individual entrees. The Shrimp Scampi was a nice surprise considering there is no ocean near by. They gave us rolls and very good garlic bread. The wine list was nice and the pour generous. Overall we had a lovely meal at The Allegro. If we are ever back in Altoona we would love to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best veal balls ever!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

At Allegro's they give you free veal balls in a yummy red sauce as an appetizer , they are awesome, you can also order them! The food s very good and it s the most upscale restaurant in Altoona ! A little outdated and prices are a little high for this area, but worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a family style dinner for our parent's 60th wedding anniversary. There were 15 in our party. The chef's appetizers were tasty. The food was very good. The eggplant, lasagna, chicken parmigiane and Beef Braciole, fresh broccoli, salads, bread and desserts were all wonderful. Service was excellent Desserts we chose were ok. Chocolate ice cream and cheesecake nothing special. The price was reasonable for all the food we got. We loved the family style option for our group.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendyLynn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Celebrated Dad's Birthday at his favorite Italian Restaurant !!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We held my Father's 85th Birthday at the "Allegro"...with about 17 of us we got a room to our selves and with all the different orders all went well...everyone's food was excellent...friendly staff...nice bar...my favorites are Chicken Marsala and Chicken with Peppers...family ordered steaks...seafood and of course spaghetti (my great nephew's favorite)...love the twiced baked potatoes...generous portions...enough for lunch the next day...veal balls (chef's speciality) on the house very good...I usually order the homemade cheesecake which is very good but we brought a cake and the staff brings it out when your ready...price wise...it compares with any fine dining restaurant..they do have a family style menu that offers many options for groups...have been going there for years...you never leave hungry !!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you like Italian, don't miss this place. Food, Service, and comfort are a plus. Have it on my "return" hit list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pappynmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Allegro Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing