We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alot of food for your money”

Tim's American Cafe
Ranked #11 of 165 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Alot of food for your money”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Well, if I lived in Altoona I would be obese... The amount of food given was outrageous and the price was very reasonable. We had one plate of fries for 4 and there was plenty. They seemed like real hand cut potatoes too, not mcdonalds! My itailan hoagie was 12" and filled. I still have my 1/2 hoagie in the fridge. My brother fried fish sandwich was bigger than his plate.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachMomDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a deal.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

One of the most out of the way places in town. Started with an order or fries, which comes out in a dinner plate, fresh cut and fried just right. When you order a meal, you get a great portion and it is at a very good price. WELL WORTH IT!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Banjoman18_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Was there with friends very small had smell of French fry grease poor ventilation. Large portions of so so food. Don't think I will return just not to my standards.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

First , make sure to make reservations. The food is the greatest ever. The portion are huge. My husband had the ribs which was a special. For $16 he got a rack of ribs, a huge salad on a dinner plate, green beans, a huge serving of fries. The ribs were the best ever. I had the reuben sandwich which melted in your mouth. We got a regular order of onion rings as an appetizer which was huge. We got two desserts to go. Total was only $41. I willl definitely being driving the 2 1/2 hours to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by on a Tuesday night for turkey dinner but they were sold out. Was pleased with chicken parm sandwich which comes with chips. I ordered a small fries which is the largest portion I have ever seen!

Helpful?
Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tim's American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing