We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good...Satisfied...”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #45 of 165 Restaurants in Altoona
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order! Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms.
Plymouth, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good...Satisfied...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped here on our way to Pittsburgh for lunch.
Everything was Very Good.
4 Soups, Salad Bar, Dessert Bar.
Service was Fast, Food was Good, Price was Right.
$15 for two using the online coupon you can get by going to the website.
Fine Place - We will return.

Ted G

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TedG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Your feedback for our Altoona location is greatly appreciated. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price. We hope you choose Hoss's again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after a long day at DelGrosso's Amusment Park. We had 4 tired and hungry kids, and even though the parking lot was full (including a charter bus) we were seated promptly, and our food arrived quickly. The food quality of both our meals and the hot/salad bar was excellent! Our server Morgan was very attentive, and kept our glasses full! We'll definitely be eating here again on future trips to Altoona!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepcreekmounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Altoona location. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience and that Morgan exceeded your expectations. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Salad Bar.........”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very Good Steak joint, with an endless salad bar which includes soups, desserts, and homemade bread.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALTOONASHAWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Altoona location. We strive to provide great food and service to all of our guests at a reasonable price. Your feedback and patronage is appreiciated. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food in a casual setting...great selection at a reasonable price”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hoss's has a good selection from steaks to seafood to chicken and burgers to name a few...extensive salad bar...macaroni and potato salad are very good..homemade soups...chicken noodle is my favorite....and a dessert bar with frozen yogurt ...alot of seating available for families and booths for couples or small groups...service is very good..your drink is refilled in a timely manner..takeout is available... even at crowded times the line moves quickly...and you never leave hungry !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Altoona location. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was the best. Great service, the waitress Trista was outstanding.
Our food was cooked right, and served in a reasonable amount of time.
Visit if you can!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Altoona location. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We appreciate your patronage and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing