We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Tommy Lasorda”
Review of Champs Sports Bar

Champs Sports Bar
Ranked #6 of 165 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the Tommy Lasorda”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great sandwich, great nachos, great fries. Service was excellent. Drinks were timely(I don't like an empty glass)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Corl-Grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Always a great experience at Champs! It goes beyond a sports bar, the food is great. They have a large selection of beer that changes and tonight they had live music! I would recommend this place anytime! Try the wings and any of their sides!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Sporty" atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great sandwiches! Atmosphere is nice, but a bit noisy due to the multiple TV's located throughout the restaurant. A good place to watch the game and enjoy a casual meal with friends.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food; pretty good service, but noisy.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Champs has a great menu. The service is well-trained and the young people serving you are pleasant and professional. However, the restaurant is really for sports enthusiasts or people who have to have extra visual or audio stimuli, preferrably about sports. We went twice due to the food, convenient location and the good service, but that's it. It's too noisy for a romantic dinner for two, and it's a bit pricey not to be able to feel that you're on a date.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaaren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Salads are Great!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We eat outside outside. A beautiful day to eat under the sun. We all ordered salads. Each of us ordered a different kind. We were all pleased with our choice. The service was good as our server was very attentitive. Some people agree that the salads are some of the best in the area, if not, one of the best dollar buys on the menu.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champs Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to Champs Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing