We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mariott hotel”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good mariott hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed one night and it was pretty good. Room was very spacious and bathroom was big and clean. Our room had fridge and microvawe. The only negatives are that fridge door was broken and air conditioning unit was broken also. Thermostate does not work so it keeps blowing cold air so i had to turn it off at night when temperature dropped to 60 degrees. Same story goes for the heat so we had to do without alltogether. However if these problems will be fixed it is a very comfortable place to stay. Overall i would rate it as very good. Also to keep in mind that courtyard does not offer free breakfast while other marriott brands do.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank perlusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
perlusha,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered during your stay. Please know I have addressed these items with our staff inorder to make improvements and provide a more positive experience. I’m pleased to hear you liked our accommodations otherwise and found your room to be clean and spacious. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again in the near future

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    79
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
82
33
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed for five nights with my husband and grandson while we explored the surrounding area. The front desk staff were ALWAYS friendly and helpful. We felt welcome every time we came and went. Even the housekeeping staff were friendly when we saw them. The room was large and comfortable. We bid through Priceline, so we got a great price.
The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that I felt the room should have been vacuumed each day and the sheets were rather worn. I would certainly stay there again if I were to come back to Altoona!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Amywr,
We’re delighted to hear of your pleasant stay, and your appreciation of our staff. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our spacious and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly service. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improving our guest experience and will certainly address these items. Thank you again for choosing Courtyard Altoona. We hope to see you in the future for more family fun.

Kind regards,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This room was not worth $159.00. We were very disappointed in the room. Furniture was in bad shape and the desk drawer looked like it was ready to fall out. The bathroom was dirty between the door and the tub and the shower liner was old and dirty. The pillows were so worn out that we felt like our heads were on a rocks. There were stains on the carpet, that made us feel that all of the carpet was dirty.

We were in Altoona for a funeral as my husband's brother passed away suddenly. We did ask for a bereavement rate and she said there were none available. It was a very tiring time and then there were 2 fire alarms at different times.

We did get a 20 minute dip in the pool which was lovely and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Nancy B,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and acknowledging our friendly staff even though the accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not met with our excellence in service. Your feedback provides many opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you travel to Altoona.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here with a wedding party. I had made my reservation two weeks in advance, but there was a hiccup with being booked on the wrong date upon arrival. There were no rooms available, but the manager, Tiffany, worked her magic. She felt awful about the situation, gave me the wedding rate (which was not available, when I originally booked), and did it all within less than 10minutes. The entire staff was courteous and on point with any and all questions that myself and boyfriend had during our short stay. If you're staying in Altoona, this is the place to stay and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkt1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Jkt1982,
I’m delighted to hear of your pleasant stay and appreciation of our staff. It’s great to know that Tiffany was able to accommodate your reservation and you felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay. I’ll be certain to recognize Tiffany with a special commendation for her excellence in service. We appreciate your review and recommendations of our great hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARKS SUMMIT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stay at this hotel about once a year and we always enjoy our stay. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The staff is always very friendly and we enjoy the food at the restaurant. We will continue to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurryNEPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
MurryNEPA,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us once a year and taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Courtyard Altoona. I’m pleased to know we have consistently met your expectations with our friendly staff, great food, and our clean and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank you once again for your patronage and review.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here! The hotel was modern and welcoming! The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. The lobby area was spacious and nicely decorated. The rooms were clean and spacious. It was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabFive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
FabFive07,
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our great hotel and helpful staff. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay and our clean and spacious rooms. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Altoona. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Altoona for 1 night in May 2013 (check-in Sunday / check-out Monday).

Pros:

- The location - Situated approximately 6 hours from Toronto on the way to Washington DC (9 hour total trip) - Seemed like the right distance away (since travelling with young children). Relatively close to I 99/US 220 -

- Room size and quality matched expectations of typical Courtyard Marriott. Pictures on Marriott website are indicative of experience.

- Decent sized pool and whirlpool area.

- Friendly staff.

Cons:

- A little pricey for the location. Over $100 USD per night *we stayed on points

- The whirlpool is closed on Mondays for maintenance which was only a very minor annoyance and would not impact 99% of people staying here.

Overall, I was satisfied with the Courtyard by Marriott Altoona and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Tips - We enjoyed breakfast off site at the Cracker Barrel - there is one near the exit for this hotel - 100 Charlotte Drive Altoona, PA 16601

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ][
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
][,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Altoona. I loved your observations and appreciate that you recognized our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity. I’m glad you were satisfied with your stay and found our accessible location, friendly staff, and accommodations to meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel to others.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
775 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Property: Courtyard Altoona
Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing