We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
CLARKS SUMMIT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stay at this hotel about once a year and we always enjoy our stay. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The staff is always very friendly and we enjoy the food at the restaurant. We will continue to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurryNEPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
MurryNEPA,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us once a year and taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Courtyard Altoona. I’m pleased to know we have consistently met your expectations with our friendly staff, great food, and our clean and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank you once again for your patronage and review.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    79
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
82
33
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here! The hotel was modern and welcoming! The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. The lobby area was spacious and nicely decorated. The rooms were clean and spacious. It was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabFive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
FabFive07,
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our great hotel and helpful staff. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay and our clean and spacious rooms. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Altoona. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Altoona for 1 night in May 2013 (check-in Sunday / check-out Monday).

Pros:

- The location - Situated approximately 6 hours from Toronto on the way to Washington DC (9 hour total trip) - Seemed like the right distance away (since travelling with young children). Relatively close to I 99/US 220 -

- Room size and quality matched expectations of typical Courtyard Marriott. Pictures on Marriott website are indicative of experience.

- Decent sized pool and whirlpool area.

- Friendly staff.

Cons:

- A little pricey for the location. Over $100 USD per night *we stayed on points

- The whirlpool is closed on Mondays for maintenance which was only a very minor annoyance and would not impact 99% of people staying here.

Overall, I was satisfied with the Courtyard by Marriott Altoona and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Tips - We enjoyed breakfast off site at the Cracker Barrel - there is one near the exit for this hotel - 100 Charlotte Drive Altoona, PA 16601

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ][
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
][,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Altoona. I loved your observations and appreciate that you recognized our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity. I’m glad you were satisfied with your stay and found our accessible location, friendly staff, and accommodations to meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel to others.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for an evening for a Bachelorette party. The hotel was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the front desk and cleaning people were friendly and helpful as well! It was a quiet hotel too. The location was nice because it was in a quieter area but still close to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Oh and their lobby/outdoor sitting area, AMAZING!
Thanks, Courtyard Marriott for a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlb471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
mlb471,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Altoona and writing a review about your experience. We’re happy to have been a part of your Bachelorette party festivities, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff, clean hotel and comfortable accommodations. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and sharing your recommendations of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We were blown away by the excellent service from everyone. The staff looked and found me at the pool to let me know that from my room we would see the local fireworks. They were ALL wonderful - we travel a lot and find some of hotel staff are nice but this experience tops them all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickaryousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
VickaryousTravels,
It’s great to hear from you and receive your complimentary feedback about our staff. I’m pleased to know our wonderful staff exceeded your expectations with their excellence in service and made for an enjoyable stay. I’ll be sure to pass your kind comments along to our team. Thank you again for writing. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Seaville, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stay at Courtyard Hotels when given the opportunities, and this one in Altoona is a great place. The staff from the front desk, housekeeping and food servers couldn't be better at any price. Everyone was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The lobby and eating areas are large and very well appointed. The room was spotless, and very comfortable and quiet. The free wireless worked great. The hotel is somewhat isolated as it is built on a plateau, so it is free from any traffic noise. I could go on and on, but when I return to Altoona, I would not think of staying anyplace else. It is an excellent value.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room in front, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
William C B,
It’s great to hear from you! Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Altoona. We appreciate your kind comments about our wonderful staff, clean hotel and comfortable accommodations. We’re glad you had a quiet stay with us and found our hotel to provide an excellent value for your travels. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Altoona. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Courtyards are always a good place to stay - trusted quality. The Altoona Convention Center Courtyard by Marriott is no exception. Friendly staff, clean and well appointed rooms. I like the 24-hour snack and drinks kiosk. Unlike some chains, this one doesn't offer a free breakfast buffet but I'd rather pay for quality at the cafe. There also isn't a coffee station but the cafe features Starbucks coffee - you can't have it all.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room on the west side (front facing) of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_DMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Jim_DMars,
Thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we provided you with the consistent friendly service and clean accommodations that you’ve come to expect from the Courtyard brand. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
775 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Property: Courtyard Altoona
Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing