We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Model Courtyard”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Some people wouldn't like the fact this hotel is a little off the beaten path...in an area that has been built as a convention center. Up on a hill. But I thought it was beautiful...which nice views of the valley. And, oh yes, it was a very good hotel. The front desk man Nigel was very helpful, conversational and friendly. The cafe area, which exists at a number of Courtyards, offers some very decent sandwiches and flatbreads and salads (I had the quesadilla: tasty), along with some beer, wine and liquor choices. Special kudos to the patient cook who was patiently handling a crazy number of orders on a very busy night. (Management: he could have used some help!) The room was super. This is a super-clean, very contemporary Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thanks very much for your kudos bagnato1! I especially appreciate you mentioning Nigel; he’s a great asset and was very excited to be included in your review. Your feedback on the cook needing an extra set of hands is very helpful as well.

Best wishes,

Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had to be in Hollidaysburg for business and I stayed at this hotel. The room was nice and clean, the staff was extremely professional and helpful and it is convenient. We used a small conference room to prepare for our meeting the next day and the staff, including at the restaurant, was very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed. The food was pretty good. Beautiful view overlooking the Allegenies too. If I am ever in Altoona or Hollidaysburg again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinMan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear TravelinMan08,

Thank you for your kind comments, I’m glad to know we took great care of you; we all look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean, bright and modern. Coming off the road after a long trip to PA, the modern ammenities were a welcome sight. Checkin was quick, the room was clean and new and quiet and the bed was comfortable. Had a great nights rest. 12oclock check out also a plus. Not rushing.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emlovesyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

It’s great to hear you loved our hotel Emlovesyellow, thanks very much for the fantastic review! Please visit us again the next time you travel this way, it would be our pleasure to see you again.

Have a great summer,

Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I’ve stayed at the Altoona Marriott Courtyard a dozen plus times over the past few years and always found it good value, very clean and well managed. Last evening I stayed for the first time since the recent renovation’s completion and have a few observations. (I’d stayed there twice during the protracted renovation, and was anxious to see the result knowing the grand opening had occurred before this latest visit.) Again, a very good renovation indeed, but with a few wrinkles. The lobby is quite stunning and the new placement of the coffee bar and Bistro are well done, eye appealing and very upscale. However, I do have a few negative comments; first, upon approach to the main entrance, one is struck by the barrage of piped-in music that seems thought to be a welcoming feature upon entering. It is not. Further, sitting in the newly configured Bistro, the music at 6:30 in the morning is pervasive, irritating and inescapable. Should the management reaffirm the need for noise pollution, then a better selection of sounds should be provided. I was really annoyed by the ‘upbeat’ (and up volume) ‘ambiance’ polluting the lobby area making it difficult to simply enjoy the quiet and carry on a moderate volume conversation. If I want a disco not a bistro, I’ll go to one. Further, the super health conscious Bistro posts each selection’s calorie count to educate the customer on the deliberate health conscious selections offered for our enjoyment. What if I want a glazed donut or fresh pastry with my Starbucks (yes, a new add)? Suggestion: have some fat food for us not concerned with calorie count patrons. Further the lack of any bell staff to assist in carrying bags to the room is an inconvenience, and ought to be address during the surge hours when the self-use hand carts are all taken and not available. Again, a well managed hotel with an upscale facilities, but I suggest a little less innovation reclaiming some of what has work well in the past may be a formula for a better stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memjfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and your loyalty to our hotel memjfm1! We appreciate your repeat business and wish you had been in town for our renovation celebration. I’m sorry to hear you don’t enjoy Marriott’s new Bistro concept, I’m sure that because it’s new, Marriott will use valuable feedback from guests such as yourself to make enhancements in the future. We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Fantastic value, fantastic location...
I was visiting friends at Penn State Altoona and will definitely stay here again. Everything you would expect from the Marriott brand!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks very much for your five star review Lutolf; we’re thrilled to know you enjoyed our hotel and hope you had a great visit with your friends!

Best regards,

Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Six of us were In town for the womens bowling tournment and had a wonderful stay. The Bistro Bar was quite expensive for our group of ladies that went. $9.00 for a two eggs and toast breakfast,But, we went exploring around the town and found good places to eat..Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1956BOWLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

booked this hotel on priceline. very clean, good location, and nice room. will definately go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Looking forward to your next visit vishal s, thanks so much for the review!

Sincerely,

Katie Millward, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
813 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $92 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing