We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
TEXAS
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I always stay at the Courtyard, whether traveling on business or to see my family. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, as they have helped me numerous times. Just recently, I stayed with my husband and children while visiting family in the area. You don't even realize there is a renovation happening! I am very excited to see the new spaces when it is complete. I definately recommend the Courtyard brand to all my friends and collegues and especially the Altoona Courtyard when I know of a coworker traveling to this area. It's a beautiful area all year round and I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVELYNNE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
83
33
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

If you are working in Altoona, this is your only Marriott property option. This hotel is lame. The staff sucks and the rooms lack maintenance. The furniture is tired and the plumbing leaks. The elevators are slow. The staff doesn't recognize Marriott rewards guests until they are informed of their error. They seem to forget to read the profiles. Mine clearly states high floor, king, no handicap and away from elevator. I was placed in a king room near the elevator. This week I made a list of problems in my room and handed it to the staff to have repaired. Bathtub fills up while showering, lamp bulbs out, TV stations snow, and lack of hot water from shower. The repair were done but the staff seemed to be bothered by my requests. I have to ben back in Altoona next week and will stay here one more time. If things continue to go bad next week, I'll request some points. Anyway, if you can afford to drive 45 minutes you may want to stay in State College area. I am considering it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKlimeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

There are so many great things I can say about this hotel, staff, location, service... Everything was amazing and top notch! The front desk staff was the greatest! The maid was so nice. It is located feet away from the Convention Center, I wasn't going there but prime location if you need to. Plenty of parking. Beautiful view in the morning! Ask for a balcony, plenty of room to host people. The pool was great, plenty of room to have friends sit around and chill. The courtyard outside was pretty. For people like me and my bands, there was plenty of room up the small hill in the Convention Center parking lot for tour buses. So bands, don't let that stop you from staying here.If you want quality service, staff, comfortableness, and price. STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Balcony Room... Can host more people if traveling with friends or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNthe804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thanks so much DaveNthe804 for your nice review and recommendation! I am glad you and your band found our accommodations met and exceeded your needs. I am fortunate to have a great team that truly cares about offering great service. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Altoona area.

Best regards,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Fabulous location. Superior staff service, everyone was so warm and friendly. I was attending a convention next door and stayed here with my group. We all were very impressed with this location. The indoor pool was so comfy and the fitness center had plenty of equipment. There is a section of outdoor seating along the back of the building with a gorgeous view of the fall colors. They have tables, chairs and a grill for guests to use, awesome!

Room Tip: All rooms had refridgerators, so no need to ask for one. Book early because they fill up fast accor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Djwallflower,

Thanks so much for your nice review and recommendation! I was pleased to see you took advantage of our indoor pool and fitness center. I am happy that our team was able to meet and exceed your expectations. Thanks again!

Yours truly,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Pros: I was in Altoona on business, and for the business traveler, this hotel is the best in town. It's typical courtyard, and, as it's new, it's probably better than most. It was very clean the front desk was personable and helpful.

Cons: Location, location, location... It's next to the convention center, but, unless you're going to the convention center, it's out of the way and inconvenient. You have to drive to get to anything, and finding the place in the dark is a challenge. be sure to have a GPS with you. The breakfast was the worst I've had at any Marriott property, and absolutely not up to a business traveler's standards. These two things are the reasons it doesn't get five dots. Would I stay here again...? Yes, but only because it's the best in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmCan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Family visit. The panoramic views were wonderful. Can't wait to go back in the fall to see the trees ....Last year was there for the foliage. Spectacular. All rooms appear to have a great view. Very nice staff and pool area and deck. Relaxing and Enjoyable. Close to all Rest and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony... You can even lay and bed and see scenery. Great set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecroadwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

When we arrived, we were pleased to see a brand-new building and everything looked great. We would have stayed at the local Hampton if it was available, but we settled for the Courtyard by Mariott. The rate for the room was slightly higher than what we are accustomed to paying, but not way out of line. The rooms was neat, tidy, well-made and the pool and hot-tub was a great feature as well. However, the buffet breakfast was not included in the price, and at $9 a head, we decided to head out for breakfast. Also, for our liking, we found the beds to be too soft and weren't able to sleep as well as we had hoped.

Overall, the hotel was fine, staff was courteous but rang a little low on the value scale.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
787 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#11 of 15 in Altoona
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Altoona
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Property: Courtyard Altoona
Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing