We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Family visit. The panoramic views were wonderful. Can't wait to go back in the fall to see the trees ....Last year was there for the foliage. Spectacular. All rooms appear to have a great view. Very nice staff and pool area and deck. Relaxing and Enjoyable. Close to all Rest and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony... You can even lay and bed and see scenery. Great set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecroadwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    77
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
80
33
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

When we arrived, we were pleased to see a brand-new building and everything looked great. We would have stayed at the local Hampton if it was available, but we settled for the Courtyard by Mariott. The rate for the room was slightly higher than what we are accustomed to paying, but not way out of line. The rooms was neat, tidy, well-made and the pool and hot-tub was a great feature as well. However, the buffet breakfast was not included in the price, and at $9 a head, we decided to head out for breakfast. Also, for our liking, we found the beds to be too soft and weren't able to sleep as well as we had hoped.

Overall, the hotel was fine, staff was courteous but rang a little low on the value scale.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Returned from this stay to discover a family emergency at home, so I forgot to write it.

My husband was in the area for a two day bowling tournament, and we were not impressed with the hotel suggested by the bowling league, so we opted to go on our own and got this hotel through Hotwire (where I do about 75% of my bookings).

I had to have my foot operated on right before we left, and I also have balance issues, so I phoned in after getting the Hotwire confirmation, and they were happy to upgrade me to a room with a walk-in shower. And I must say the accessible bathroom was fantastic - the nicest one I've been in so far. It was huge, so if you need a wheelchair, scooter, or walker to get around, there is a lot of room to move.

The hotel is out of the way, which has a few drawbacks, but you don't have to deal with traffic or noise. There are plenty of chain restaurants and shopping nearby. Easily accessible from the 99.

I don't know why someone said they felt the furniture looked like Salvation Army furniture. I thought it was very nice. You have to be realistic - hotel furniture sees a lot of traffic and it does get scratched and dinged. I never understood why anyone would mark down for that. Wi-Fi was strong, and worked well.

My only grumble, and I don't blame the hotel for it, was with their bar in the lobby. It attracted some very rowdy people who decided to camp out in the area with lots of food and children in their pajamas who ran up and down the halls. I don't know if there were complaints, but eventually it quieted down. It wasn't late enough for me to call and ask them to quiet down. Breakfast the next morning was very good, and the price was reasonable.

I would definitely stay there again if I found myself in the area.

Room Tip: Got Great Rate With Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funky-rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were in town for a wedding and wanted a nice place for the family to stay. The Courtyard by Marriott was just what we were looking for. The room was large and clean, the staff was friendly, and the hotel was easy to find.... right next to the Convention Center. The hotel was veeeeery quiet and the room-darkening shades made sleeping that much easier. The balcony was small, but room enough for 2 chairs and a small table. The made-to-order breakfast was 8.95 per adult and 3.95 per child under 12. The only problem was the in-room air conditioning wasn't working as well as it could have been. Made the night's temperature inconsistent. Other than that small hiccup, we would very gladly recommend this hotel to any traveler in the Altoona area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip when in the area. I checked in and went to my room and found a very dirty room, the carpet had not been vacuumed, and there were ants. When I called the front desk, they said someone would be up. After an hour of waiting, I went down and they gave me the vacuum and I cleaned the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoregal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night on a weekend. This hotel is pretty convenient to I-99. I’ve stayed at the Holiday Inn in Altoona before and the Courtyard is definitely located in a better area of the city. In all, the quality is what you would expect of a Courtyard hotel. I purchased the room through Priceline and the gentleman checking me in mentioned this in a bit of a condescending way. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Each room had a small patio with a (working) sliding glass door which was a nice touch. We had the buffet breakfast in the dining room which was just OK – again, no better or worse than what you would expect. Our server was very friendly and attentive. No video/in-room checkout option was available, but checkout at the desk was quick and easy. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embraer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This property is located on the edge of town, away from the noise. Plenty of shopping and food options right around the block. The staff was so friendly and the location is very quiet, no noise issues at all. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#8 of 14 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
8.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#4 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Property: Courtyard Altoona
Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing