We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Altoona's Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bill Sell's Bold

Bill Sell's Bold
Ranked #5 of 162 Restaurants in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Altoona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Altoona's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Living in Altoona can be a great challenge for any foodie, especially one who loves international cuisine (we have none in Altoona). My wife and I finally made it to Bold for lunch one Friday several months back and have made it one of two go to destinations when dining in Altoona (we travel to State College to get our international food fix). The food at Bold is always great quality and has just that little bit of flair to kick it up to being bold. If you're in toon-town Bold is a must for dinning. Lunch is a great deal for some great food. I promise

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Toon-TownTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely place for a romantic dinner. crystal chandeliers,attractive bar,table linens & great food! Refreshing grilled peach salad,cuban skirt steak seaoned perfectly,pork tenderloin with pineapple salsa,veggies al dente, tastey chipotle corn smashed potatoes all were delicious! Wish we had room for dessert. Reasonably priced for upscale dining, one of our favorites for lunch & dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cinnyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
246 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sea Bass and Shrimp Appetizer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for business. I tried this restaurant due to Trip Advisors reviews.

I am a home gourmet cook and know how to cook. I learned when I was 5 years old.

I ordered the shrimp cups and the mango sauce was tasty but the shrimp needed to be cooked another 5 minutes.

The sea bass was tasty. A reduction mango sauce was very good. The Tempranillo wine was great!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, attentive service and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A friend and I chose Bold for an impromptu Friday eventing dinner. We selected three dishes from their small plate menu: fish tacos, mussels in a red sauce and the apple and goat cheese salad. All were delicious. We sat outside on the front patio not the most charming of al fresco spots, but enjoyable nonetheless on a warm summer evening. Bold is worth seeking out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Divine904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove
Level Contributor
175 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I hope this restaurant does very well. i would love to return some day when near this area again. The tuna, sea bass, and fried chicken were all outstanding. Good service and very nice drinks from the bar. The rye bread was really special! The portions were huge, so we had no room for dessert, although they sounded very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bill Sell's Bold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing