We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience- Great Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Altoona
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel since it opened a few years ago, often to visit in-laws who were in bad health. Somehow we didn't visit last year, but when we stayed at the hotel this past Labor Day weekend, the front-desk staff (i.e., Alyssa), housekeeping and breakfast servers, Amy (weekend) and Linda (week days), remember us. Amy was just wonderful! She saw that my 3-year old enjoyed peach yogurt at breakfast and she gave him a couple of yogurts for snack, and then offered to wrap up the leftover waffle my boys didn't finish. What friendly staff and great service! Room is always clean and we love the pool! It's no wonderful we keep going back every time!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy that our staff remembered you and were able to accommodate your needs. Our staff tries to provide every guest a memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Traveling with two teenagers we needed a hotel that offered three beds, which is hard to find. We were pleased to learn that Comfort Suites offered a room with 2 queen beds, as well as a sleeper sofa. The hotel appeared to be rather new and was much more "upscale" than I would have expected, ex. furniture style bathroom vanity with granite top, very nicely decorated, a cabinet encasing the microwave and refrig, etc. The lobby was lovely as well and everything was very clean. The breakfast was expanded beyond a typical cold continental breakfast, and the woman who was maintaining the breakfast area was exceptionally friendly and incredibly efficient! The hotel was convenient to the highway with easy access on and off of Rt. 99. It was well worth the few mile drive since it is slightly north of Altooona. A definite "do over" if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We do feel that we are able to provide an upscale hotel experience at a reasonable price. I appreciate that you mentioned our breakfast staff because they take a great deal of pride in creating a memorable morning for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in the area for an Altoona Curve baseball game (which in the end was rained out). We arrived at the hotel close to 4 pm. The email and website said check in time was 2 pm, but our room wasn't ready at 4 pm. We had to sit in the lobby and wait about 20 minutes until they got a room cleaned for us. The girl at the front desk called housekeeping over the radio and the person that replied said that she didn't know what the housekeepers were doing that day because they had only cleaned a couple of rooms in a couple of hours. Not something that you should let the customer hear, and definitely something that should be addressed right away, rather than just complaining to another employee.

When we got our room, we were impressed. The room was very large, there was a huge desk, a sofa, chair, fridge, microwave, Keurig. The television stand and the Microwave/fridge stand should have been reversed as it was difficult to watch the television from the one bed.

All in all, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ohnostargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

I apologize that your room was not ready at the time of your arrival. I also apologize that you experienced a moment of less than expected professionalism. We strive to always improve, so please be assured that your comment will be a lesson to all of us. Thanks for coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel to take the grandkids to DelGrosso Amusement Park. Besides the great price we received on this visit , it is also close enough to the parks and shopping district. Everything you need is right off RT 99 within minutes in one direction or the other.
The free hot breakfast makes this clean, conveniently located hotel even a better deal!!
You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVtravelers489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your grandkids. Thank you for mentioning how our location has us convenient to anything that you might need. We feel very fortunate that we are the closest hotel to DelGrosso's Amusement Park. I hope that you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was very clean. It it usually very difficult to find a hotel that can accommodate 2 adults & 3 kids in 1 room, but this hotel accomplished this with aplomb & a great rate to boot.
We usually have to call down to the front desk to ask for extra towels but no so with this hotel! the pull out sofa had no sheets and we had to leave a message at the front desk as the call button on the phone was not working. 4 minutes later a gentle knock at the door signalled the arrival of the sheets.
Breakfast was the usual adequate fare.
The pool closes at 10pm....would've like it to close a little later, perhaps 11pm.
Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elcycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for mentioning how clean our hotel was during your stay. We believe that being both clean and friendly are our most important responsibilities to you our guest. We try to keep the pool open as late as possible while still maintaining a quiet environment for all of our guests. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel rooms are new and clean. The pool area is a little small but nice and warm. No hottub. The free breakfast gets a little crowed and not enough tables for everyone to sit at. We will continue to stay at this hotel for our Altoons visits. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikenkristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that breakfast was a little crowded when you were there. We do try to have additional seating available in our conference rooms when they are available. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

By far, one of the most pleasant places we've stayed. Extremely clean and roomy, great mattress, good amenities and an all around great stay. Breakfast was very adequate - sausage, waffles, eggs, and the usual cold or toastable items. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for mentioning how clean your room was. Our housekeeping staff strives to make every guestroom as clean as it was when we opened. Please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
813 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Address: 140 Stroehman Dr, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit #39, Altoona, PA 16601-9422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel located off of I-99 at Exit# 39. All of our rooms are equipped with either 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds, a Microwave, Fridge, K-Cup Keurig Machine, and a Pull-Out Sofa Bed. We offer free WIFI and a Complimentary Hot Breakfast for all of our guests. We have 2 meeting spaces available, a heated indoor pool, and a 24 hour fitness center. Group Rates and Package deals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing