We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Altoona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Altoona
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our hot button is cleanliness. This facility exceeded our requirements. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel like we were long time friends. We needed this because the trip was because of a death in the family. The staff's actions helped to lessen the load. We are very greatful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I am sorry that your stay with us was not for a happier occasion, but I am happy that our staff helped you to feel as though you were surrounded by friends. I am also pleased that you found our hotel to be clean. I hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    74
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
163
47
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Linesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My stay with Comfort Suites was unexpected due to an online booking arrangement with a nearby Comfort Inn, but the change was certainly worth the extra ten miles traveled. The staff was very welcoming and the hotel was so clean that I thought it was newly opened. Surprisingly, the manager shared that they have been open for three years. The breakfast area was clean, and well stocked. The breakfast attendants were friendly and even offered to take my trash when I was finished. My room was spacious, very clean (including the bathroom), and tidy. I would certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of your recent stay. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and the staff to be helpful. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our recent 4 day stay was very pleasant at this new hotel. The rooms are spacious and everything was very clean. It is all suites, so there is a nice little sitting area in each room. The lobby is very large and has lots of areas to accommodate a group. View of mountains all around the hotel is beautiful. I don't really have any complaints; just suggestions. Enlarge the pool if possible; way too small. Another mirror above the desk area would be useful instead of a picture. The towel bar is inside the tub area so the towels get wet instead of dry and there is nowhere else to hang a towel. Breakfast was adequate but didn't vary from day to day. The staff was always polite, helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Top floor may be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgeagleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you commented on the view from our location. We believe that we have one of the most picturesque settings in Blair County. I am also glad that you enjoyed our rooms and found our staff to be polite. Your suggestions will be considered as we are always looking to exceed guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night from Sat to Sun. Must have been there the same time as a family reunion or some sort of team gathering. Kids everywhere which is fine except when rooms are not very sound proof. Had kids with me and they complained about the noise. Kids running down halls, in the room above, etc. pool was packed so couldn't even use that -which had been an original reason we chose to stay here.

Now the pluses....staff was very, very friendly. Rooms were large and clean. Nice to have the pullout couch.

Cons....Shower curtain was very short and did nothing got stop the water from getting on the floor. Tried to adjust shower head and was afraid i would break it as it was not very sturdy.

Very isolated location. And very noisy. Not conducive to a good night sleep.

Not sure I will stay here again although I may give it the benefit of the doubt and hope it was just a very busy weekend and that they can impove the shower.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tired T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I apologize for the excessive noise that you experienced. We try to encourage our guests to have a great time while staying with us. Unfortunately, it sounds like we did not balance the fun of some of our guests with the quiet of our other guests. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the staff otherwise and I hope that you do give us another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights (Nov 5th and 6th) and LOVED it. I knew I could trust the name "Comfort Suites" but was not familiar with Altoona. The Altoona area surrounding the hotel has a lot of restaurants and shopping but outside of that you are really in the wilderness I probably wouldn't have come here if not for the fact it was business related.

Regardless, The hotel is awesome. Beautiful, brand new, the staff was super friendly. The hotel was VERY clean and the breakfast was very yummy.

I reccomend this and I'm sure I will be in altoona again for business in the future so I will surely stick with this same hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad that you found us and enjoyed your stay. We are really proud of our staff and how they treat our guests. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at Comfort Suites in Altoona for a 5-day vacation just for fun. The hotel was fresh and clean with an excellent complementary hot breakfast. The breakfast stewardess kept all the food fresh and hot and the dining area spic and span. This establishment deserves high marks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorMarkMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We take a great amount of pride in both our clean hotel and our friendly staff. I also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast. We constantly try to add new items that our guests will enjoy. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are a travel-loving family of three and we stay at a wide variety of hotels. The "must have" is a pool to let the little one get rid of the wiggles. This Comfort Suites is just two-years old and staying in a new hotel was a treat. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and seriously, a Keuring?! With top-quality coffee! Very nice. Free Wi-Fi, refrigerator and microwave...amenities I expect, but have learned that not all hotels have them. We did enjoy the pool. Yes, it is on the small side, but definitely one of the cleanest we have seen and it was heated. We stayed on the third floor and it was very quiet. Breakfast was fine, sausages, eggs, usual bread assortments and pastries. There were some fresh fruits and a selection of juices and coffee. The breakfast area was clean and well attended. My only complaint is the bathroom! I do not know if this is the same in all rooms, but I assume so. When one walks in the bathroom, the light turns on. The light turns off when "it" senses that no one is in the room. (I guess that is how it works!) That is all fine and dandy unless one has to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. :( I could not figure out if there was an "over-ride" of some sort and at 2am that was the last thing on my mind.
None the less, we would definitely stay here again. The staff were friendly and I found myself thinking that this Comfort Suites was Comfortably Reliable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happythreesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very proud of both the amenities and cleanliness of our hotel. I am also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. We have team members that work very hard to provide the best food in the cleanest environment. I am sorry that you did not like our bathroom light set-up. We try to anticipate ways to constantly improve. I hope to see you on a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#7 of 12 in Altoona
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
8.1 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#9 of 12 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Property: Comfort Suites Altoona
Address: 140 Stroehman Dr, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit #39, Altoona, PA 16601-9422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel located off of I-99 at Exit# 39. All of our rooms are equipped with either 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds, a Microwave, Fridge, K-Cup Keurig Machine, and a Pull-Out Sofa Bed. We offer free WIFI and a Complimentary Hot Breakfast for all of our guests. We have 2 meeting spaces available, a heated indoor pool, and a 24 hour fitness center. Group Rates and Package deals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing