We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Altoona
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a VERY clean establishment. They have everything you need and it's right off Highway 99. Horseshoe Curve and many other restaurants are about a 20-minute drive. Breakfasts and Wi-Fi are free. Although it's called a suite, I am not sure if I completely agree. It does have a quarter wall separating the beds from the couch and chair setting along with a nice size office desk. The bathroom is a very nice size. The only complaint I have are the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbors which I am not a fan of.

Room Tip: A/C runs from the thermostat on the wall not the unit itself.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dk6499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for mentioning how clean our hotel was doing your visit. We feel that there is nothing more important to our guests than a clean hotel and friendly service. Please ask our front desk staff for directions to area restaurants upon your next visit. We have over 20 restaurants that are minutes from the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stay here when visiting my mother who lives across the street in the "home" as we affectionately call it. This is an interstate hotel.....only there because a highway runs by it but for me it is a great value. The rooms are big, nicely appointed, clean and include breakfast (not great but toast and cereal is ok). The rooms are a bit noisey so we use the fan as white noise to buffer it. I would not stay on the first floor near the lobby... too noisey but other than that no complaints. We used to stay at the Marriott Courtyard which is the only other hotel in Altoona I would stay at, but this is better (except if you want restaurants, shopping then stay at Marriott).

Room Tip: Noisey so stay away from lobby.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentherefromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our property. I am so pleased that you found our location to be convenient for your visit. Many of our guests tell us how much they like that we are at both a quiet location and also easily accessible to I-99. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Back in Altoona and reminded why the "Comfort inn" isn't my first choice, woke up by housekeeping @ 9am could of sworn that "Do not Disturb" was up, funny I can't find it in the room housekeeper that woke me up must have it... oh well I'm just not happy here next time its my favorite in Altoona or its my car cause atleast no one will wake me up early there...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I appologize that your sleep was interupted by the housekeeper. I can assure you that we would never intentionally disturb a guest. I hope that you will try our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose this location over a couple others in the area based on the excellent reviews we read on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we were somewhat disappointed. Like another reviewer around the same time, the main problem was the front desk. We arrived at 5 pm and were told that there were no clean rooms available, but that they would have one within 10 min. They claimed this was because they were sold out the previous night. No big problem. We waited and were given a key to a room, only to find that the maids were still working on it!
We took a look at the pool, but decided against trying it, as it just didn't look that inviting.
The room was clean and fairly large. I would have traded in the marble in the bathroom for more water pressure.
The breakfast was good and the lady working the breakfast bar was very pleasant. The forks were awful flimsy for cutting a nice waffle.
On our return to the room the 2nd day of our stay we discovered that the key card no longer worked. A trip to the front desk remedied this, but it should never have happened.
Also I asked if they had any pillows which were firmer, but they didn't.
It was a good hotel with a nice lobby and room appearance, but because of front desk problems, not worthy of 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillZ299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I am sorry that your room was not ready for you upon your arrival. I am also sorry that your room key quit working for you. Sometimes the cards loose their magnetic code if they are too close to a cellphone. I hope you will try our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a very quiet area right off of I99. The room was large with 2 beds and a seperate sitting area. The room had a K cup coffee machine. We also enjoyed the breakfast that was offered. We ail definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coley303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the K-cup coffee machine in your room. We find that guests like the modern conveniences that our hotel provides. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

As usual, the reviews on tripadvisor are spot on. The hotel was great. Large room, clean, great location for us. Breakfast was great. Pool is small but does its job. I highly recommend. We went as a family of 5 to visit the local amusement parks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for you kind review. I am pleased that you and your family had a great time both in our hotel and at DelGrosso's Amusement Park. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just got done with a very stressful 500 mile drive through construction and various stop and go traffic. Needing a break. Arrived at 4:30PM. Check in is at 2PM. Ours room was not ready according to front desk clerk. Would be at least 30 more minutes. Throwing excuses our way. Really not interested in it. She did though swipe my credit card and act as if all was well even though she knew room was not available. Almost decided to keep driving further down road but we were shot and went to find something to eat. Hotel is probably 6 miles or more from anything. Got something to eat - got back around 5:45 and told room was ready. She again asks for my credit card and I reminded her she already swiped it "oh". Then asks for official government ID for governement rate - yep fine I got that. Funny in all my years of traveling and staying at choice hotels this is the first time this has happened. Then she asks me what official government business I am traveling on. - really- this is none of your business sorry lady. Felt like I was being treated second class and this is the same place that I am already getting checked in late due to lack of planning or staffing or caring not sure.

Rooms are very nice. Pool is very small no hot tub and uncontrolled kids. Same goes for lobby area group of rude uncontrolled 10-12 year olds wrestling around and using bad language. Like a mini zoo. I don't expect staff to raise others kids and teach parenting 101 but they did not do anything to remedy this. I finally yelled at some kids around 11pm as they were running and yelling down the hallway. Cmon parents step up.

Breakfast area is tiny. Breakfast fare is per usual and decent

Hotel itself and rooms are very nice and clean. Just a bad taste from the little animals running around uncontrolled and the front desk inattentive and lack of caring.

Also when I made reservation...not sure why I waste the time and keystrokes stating I would like an extra blanket and pillows upon arrival. Request not met.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IowaKclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I am sorry that you did not get the service that you expected from our hotel. We try to have all rooms ready for guests when they arrive. We also try to give guests a later check-out when they are in need of a later stay. All of our rooms do have extra blankets and pillows in the closet. I hope you stay with us again and have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
813 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Address: 140 Stroehman Dr, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit #39, Altoona, PA 16601-9422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel located off of I-99 at Exit# 39. All of our rooms are equipped with either 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds, a Microwave, Fridge, K-Cup Keurig Machine, and a Pull-Out Sofa Bed. We offer free WIFI and a Complimentary Hot Breakfast for all of our guests. We have 2 meeting spaces available, a heated indoor pool, and a 24 hour fitness center. Group Rates and Package deals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing