We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Altoona
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

As usual, the reviews on tripadvisor are spot on. The hotel was great. Large room, clean, great location for us. Breakfast was great. Pool is small but does its job. I highly recommend. We went as a family of 5 to visit the local amusement parks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for you kind review. I am pleased that you and your family had a great time both in our hotel and at DelGrosso's Amusement Park. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    86
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
202
61
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
GRINNELL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just got done with a very stressful 500 mile drive through construction and various stop and go traffic. Needing a break. Arrived at 4:30PM. Check in is at 2PM. Ours room was not ready according to front desk clerk. Would be at least 30 more minutes. Throwing excuses our way. Really not interested in it. She did though swipe my credit card and act as if all was well even though she knew room was not available. Almost decided to keep driving further down road but we were shot and went to find something to eat. Hotel is probably 6 miles or more from anything. Got something to eat - got back around 5:45 and told room was ready. She again asks for my credit card and I reminded her she already swiped it "oh". Then asks for official government ID for governement rate - yep fine I got that. Funny in all my years of traveling and staying at choice hotels this is the first time this has happened. Then she asks me what official government business I am traveling on. - really- this is none of your business sorry lady. Felt like I was being treated second class and this is the same place that I am already getting checked in late due to lack of planning or staffing or caring not sure.

Rooms are very nice. Pool is very small no hot tub and uncontrolled kids. Same goes for lobby area group of rude uncontrolled 10-12 year olds wrestling around and using bad language. Like a mini zoo. I don't expect staff to raise others kids and teach parenting 101 but they did not do anything to remedy this. I finally yelled at some kids around 11pm as they were running and yelling down the hallway. Cmon parents step up.

Breakfast area is tiny. Breakfast fare is per usual and decent

Hotel itself and rooms are very nice and clean. Just a bad taste from the little animals running around uncontrolled and the front desk inattentive and lack of caring.

Also when I made reservation...not sure why I waste the time and keystrokes stating I would like an extra blanket and pillows upon arrival. Request not met.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IowaKclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am sorry that you did not get the service that you expected from our hotel. We try to have all rooms ready for guests when they arrive. We also try to give guests a later check-out when they are in need of a later stay. All of our rooms do have extra blankets and pillows in the closet. I hope you stay with us again and have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for one night and the hotel was completely booked. However, the hotel was great. Room was very nice with very comfortable beds (we had the King suite with sofabed). The free breakfast was excellent and although crowded, there was no shortage of food. The pool was very nice, but it would be nice if they had a hot tub too.

Location is a little bit on the outskirts of Altoona.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkapla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We try to make each and every guest feel at home every time that they visit us. I am very glad that you enjoyed breakfast because we try to anticipate items for our buffet that will please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

There is nothing like a new hotel. Although this one has been there for over a year, the staff has kept it so clean that it looks brand new.

In addition to a clean comfortable room, fridge, good TV and comfortable bed, fast internet connection, great shower, the housekeeping staff was really great. I had a couple of needs, and they were on it immediately.

I had a couple of encounters with staff, one was a nice redhead and the other was with a guy named Paul, and they take pride in serving their guests and keeping the place pristine.

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Altoona area, this is a very solid place to rest and get some work done.

Room Tip: Like all hotels like this, the top floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you had many positive interactions with our staff. We believe that we have a great hotel and we also have a great deal of pride in our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a recent visit to Del Grosso Amusement Park. It is but a short drive from the park so it is a great location. The exterior appearance is quite appealing; a newer hotel. The interior is quite pleasant. The staff quite pleasant.
The pool was nice and the pool area well maintained and clean.
The only drawback was the design of the breakfast area - too many people trying to do things in a small congested area. If it were only one or two people there it would be fine but more than that it is pandemonium.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromMarylandtoMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Occasionally the breakfast area does become busy with guests eating at the same time. We do offer additional seating in some of our function rooms when possible to try to provide a more comfortable setting for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I were traveling to Ohio from New York and wanted to stop midway. After a visit to DelGrosso's Amusement park, we choose to stay at the Comfort Suites in Altoona PA - a really great hotel. It is newly updated with lovely furnishings and linens. My kids were impressed with the granite in the bathroom! The entire place was clean, clean, clean. For the price, I thought it was a bargain. The complimentary breakfast included regular or chocolate waffles that you can make fresh. Delicious! Very pleasant and knowledgeable staff, too. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I am so glad that you decided to stay with us while you visited DelGrosso's Amusement Park. We are so proud to have such a wonderful family park so close to us. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I thought this place was overpriced for such a small town.......BUT HOLY COW !!!!! This place was incredible

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
437 reviews
8.1 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
77 reviews
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Property: Comfort Suites Altoona
Address: 140 Stroehman Dr, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit #39, Altoona, PA 16601-9422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel located off of I-99 at Exit# 39. All of our rooms are equipped with either 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds, a Microwave, Fridge, K-Cup Keurig Machine, and a Pull-Out Sofa Bed. We offer free WIFI and a Complimentary Hot Breakfast for all of our guests. We have 2 meeting spaces available, a heated indoor pool, and a 24 hour fitness center. Group Rates and Package deals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing