We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bargain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Altoona
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Altoona
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Super 8 with my husband for two nights recently on a trip through Pennsylvania to Ohio. My husband searched around for a "better" motel but this was the only one available when we were passing through. I think it is a great bargain. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the "suite." It was not a "suite" in the sense that there were multiple rooms, but it was a very large room with a sofa, a handy desk and easy chair.
Everything was clean. The employees were friendly and helpful. And it was quiet at night. We stayed two nights because we went to see the Altoona Curve baseball team while we were in town. This motel is very convenient to the ballpark. While we normally stay in places with "better" names, I would not hesitate to stay here again if we pass through Altoona. When we stay at motels like the Super 8, we don't expect to have a designer room with high end toiletries, but we do like it to be clean and comfortable and expect convenience. This Super 8 has all of that.
There is a downside for anyone with major disabilities as there is no elevator so it would be best to request a ground floor room.

Room Tip: If staying for multiple nights, the suite is a great deal & very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    217
    128
    37
    32
See reviews for
244
122
64
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed 2 nights on June 13-14
Front desk was awesome.
Smelled smokey on bottom floor, middle and top floor just a little.
Room was great.
Breakfast was good no meat but they had fruit and bread.

Room Tip: Book ahead for discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatiasc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Although the room was of good size and accommodating, the whole place smells of disgusting cigarette smoke. We had a nonsmoking room, but you'd never know it by the smell. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb10pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

After reading the reviews we decided to stay here. We printed off the page that shows the AARP rate of $42ish and took that with us. When we checked in she quoted $58 and when we showed her the printout, she came closer to the $42, but did not meet the printed price. She told me she couldn't. I almost stood there in front of her and called the 800 number to make the reservation at the printed price. Also, they automatically add on $1 for an in-room safe which we neither wanted or used. The plus is that it is very conveniently located to restaurants, it was clean (although no recliners or comfy beds as mentioned by others) and the wifi worked. Breakfast was a dissapointment as it was cold cereal and 4 tiny donuts. We ate elsewhere. For the price I might stay there again, but have lower expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank HorryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comet52
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

The booking firm, Expedia did not have a problem with cancelling my booking, neither did the home office of Super 8. I had made the reservations a couple hours earlier and then plans changed. i asked for a cancel or rain check as my biz plans changed. I was referred by both Expedia and Super 8 home office to speak to Dorothy, the mgr as she was the only one that could make that decision. Her answer was No to a rain check or cancel. She then went one lie farther and claimed she had no ability to make the change. I think the customer service of this hotel rep SUCKs and borders on Non-Existant. Caution befopre booking with someone who has this attitude as there are many hotels that offer a room and customer service. I will never book at Altoona or any other Hotel 8 again. Enjoy your nights fee, it will be the last. PS - I logged 8 nights at Super 8 in past yr alone.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

After trying a number of lower-price motels, I've been sticking with Super 8. They're predictable and a cut above many other chains, as well as being affordable. This Altoona location is one of the best Super 8s I've seen. My room had all the necessities: refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, loads of clean white towels, hair dryer, firm and comfortable mattress, and everything was extremely clean. I think the bathroom must have been remodeled because it was spotless. Not a bit of mold anywhere. Internet access was offered but I didn't use it. In addition, there is a small exercise room with clean new equipment. All this for only $52! I was there on Christmas day. I came back a week later and my next room was just like the first one -- great.
The negatives are minimal. There were families there with small, noisy kids, but that's not the fault of the motel. At my age I would also feel better with a grab bar by the shower. Super 8s don't seem to offer that. Another problem is that GPS units can't seem to find the place. I'm not the first person to notice that GPS puts you about a half-mile away so you have to do some searching. Must be a problem with the numbering system on that road. Again, not the fault of the motel. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Most of the needed ammenities are included. at this semi budget priced motel that you would usually have to pay at a higher priced motel., Shampoo,good cable tv,free WiFi,Refrigerator,Microwave,Hairdryer,Breakfast ,Laundry,and Fitness Center.Beds are great some rooms have recliners.Rooms seem to be recently remodeled .Only minus's are stale cigarette odor in halls and no elevators. Price paid was 75.00 for Sat Night stay. Great helpful friendly staff. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#4 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.6 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#8 of 14 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Altoona

Property: Super 8 Altoona
Address: 3535 Fairway Dr., Altoona, PA 16602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Altoona Hotel Altoona
Super Eight Altoona
Altoona Super 8
Altoona Super Eight
Super 8 Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing