We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth of July Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is undergoing major renovation but has not impacted the staffs friendliness, detail or needs or interrpted any aspect of our stay. Lovely new lobby and breakfast area. Ease of resturants, fastfoods, and shopping. Best of all because of this great location we were able to see all the fireworks from Lakemont Park setting in the parking lot! A must stay hotel if ever in Altoona Pa!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us! and I appreciate getting a response to let us know how the team performed during your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel has to offer including the newly renovated breakfast and lobby areas. It is a thrill and very special to be able to watch the fireworks display from the nearby amusement park from our building or parking lot. I am glad you and your family enjoyed that display. I hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 831 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very comfortable sleep in a clean well kept Inn. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Did not take advantage of the pool, hot tub or exercise area but we were told of them when checking in. The people at the front desk always greeted us. Breakfast was provided in renovated lobby and was adequate as continental breakfasts go. Easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deacon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to fill out the survery concerning your stay! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby and breakfast area. Again I appreciate your response and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hampton may be one of the most reliable mid-priced hotel chains in the country. Rarely is a stay at a Hampton less than satisfactory, and that is certainly the case at this high rise hotel at a busy commercial intersection just off I-99 in Altoona. You will find the usual Hampton amenities here and there is no reason to shy away from spending a night or a week here.

However, compared to the dozens of other Hamptons I've experienced, this one is in the lower 20%. Why? Customer service is not great. I stayed there using Hilton Honors Points and the front desk clerk rather laconically asked me for my credit card for incidentals but no mention of my loyalty to the brand. No big deal, of course, but symptomatic of the generally unenthusiastic attitude of the staff I encountered. My room was surprisingly wornout for a Hampton--cracks in the sink, frayed carpet, hole in the wall where the door apparently struck it when opening; scratched door, etc. Again, none of these problems are major but they are atypical of the Hampton flag.

The breakfast was OK but the breakfast room is grossly undersized for a large, five story hotel. The place on a Saturday morning was packed and guests had to fight for a seat. No evidence of the usual attendant to clean things up and the multitude of kids had savaged the place!

This property has an indoor pool, exercise room, and public computers, all standard for Hamptons. Because I stayed with points, I can't comment on the value but my assessment is that this should not be a $100 room; if you are paying that, you might shop around.

It is located across the street from a typical low brow shopping mall and is in the midst of a number of perfectly fine chain restaurants. It takes two turns off the highway to find the parking lot, which is plenty big to accommodate everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts concerning your stay at our property. I am very sorry that the service was not up to Hampton standards. Our property is known for clean comfortable rooms as well as impeccable customer service, and I apologize that this was not your experience. I know that there are other lodging choices in the area and I appreciate your business.

We are in the mist of a renovation that will be completed sometime at the end of the year. As you probably noticed we have already renovated the first floor including the breakfast area. I again am sorry that you felt the area was too small for the size of our property. We are proud of the changes that we have made in accordance with the Hampton standard Perfect Mix Lobby. With our new front desk, breakfast area, fitness room and other updated amenities we are excited to have our valued customers like yourself stay with us!

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
AOOPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful upgrade to lobby and breakfast area, since our last stay in Decemember. The staff is still the same friendly smiling Front desk. Clean room and fresh smelling sheets....makes for it peaceful tired travelers sleep! Ample space for a king room and large bath. Great houskeeping staff and breakfast staff. One cannot go hungry with the vast verity of food! Coming back from a fourth of July picnic we wittnessed the beautiful firework display from Lakemont Park! What a nice surprise for us. Family oriented for holiday travel. Our grandchildren received three bracelets wjich they proudly displayed! A must stay hotel if traveling to Altoona. Impressive for a couple who travel various states 8 months of the year! Kudos to your staff!! Fantastic and ease of location to the mall and dining. Right off the intersate which made it easy to get to!

Room Tip: Call the hotel for the GPS address as it is different from the mailing. End rooms are great for chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky_lucy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to right a review concerning your stay! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated first floor and breakfast area. We are very excited to show off the beautiful renovations. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the other amenities and were able to enjoy the fireworks at nearby Lakemont Park. I hope to you see again on your next trip to the Altoona area!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great mattress & wonderful pillows-we hope to order pillows when home. Duvet cover clean & neat.View out our window was of heat/ac roof vents, ugly, but not noisy. Temp easy to maintain w/ controls, which was good since the window didn't open & it was over 80F outside. King NS room, only 1 sink w/ very little space on vanity.Micro & frig in rm.Entry way tile to lobby was being laid-loose,hard to roll luggage over them. Breakfast good-hot & cold choices. Cracker Barrel next door. Not in scenic area.Rms in front face highway,not that close,but don't know about noise level.Rms in back face parking lot/shops. Pool looked nice,jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us! we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we have to offer. I am glad that you liked the Hampton cloud nine bedding that we offer in our hotel.

If you are ever in the area again, we hope you will choose to stay with us!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

what a place clean room large king size bed, swimming pool with hot tub. staff went out of the way to make sure all was good with room. They will have mini fridgerators in room but until then just call front desk and ask for one. I will be back again. Breakfest was either hot or cold your choice plus a on the go bag if you need one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey concerning your stay at our hotel! I am glad to hear that our team was able to meet your needs. We hope to see you again soon if your travels are bringing you to the Altoona area!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First, the hotel is undergoing a renovation. The new breakfast area looks very nice. We stayed for one night in a king bedroom with sofa bed. The first thing I noticed were was wooden doors to enter the room.
When we entered the room I could tell the rooms have not been updated for quite a long time.Red carpets and the sofa was a bright flower print form the 80's. Carpet was torn in some areas. Glad to see a nice flat screen t.v. The phones were older models and the lights and lamps were worn as well.
the bathroom area was nice with a nice marble like countertop. The bead was comfortable and the linens wre plush.
I will say the indoor pool area was clean with older furnishings. The bathroom in the pool area was horrible with stained walls, rust and needed a big cleaning. The temp. in the pool was perfect.
I would love to know if the rooms, aka, carpet, sofas, lights will be updated during the removation process?
The breakfast was good and had lots to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for sending a response concerning your stay at our hotel in Altoona, PA. We are going to be renovating the entire hotel including the guest rooms with all new furniture, as a complete renovation. We are making a brand new hotel for our valued guests like yourself!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
463 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $109 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing