We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fourth of July”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fourth of July”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful upgrade to lobby and breakfast area, since our last stay in Decemember. The staff is still the same friendly smiling Front desk. Clean room and fresh smelling sheets....makes for it peaceful tired travelers sleep! Ample space for a king room and large bath. Great houskeeping staff and breakfast staff. One cannot go hungry with the vast verity of food! Coming back from a fourth of July picnic we wittnessed the beautiful firework display from Lakemont Park! What a nice surprise for us. Family oriented for holiday travel. Our grandchildren received three bracelets wjich they proudly displayed! A must stay hotel if traveling to Altoona. Impressive for a couple who travel various states 8 months of the year! Kudos to your staff!! Fantastic and ease of location to the mall and dining. Right off the intersate which made it easy to get to!

Room Tip: Call the hotel for the GPS address as it is different from the mailing. End rooms are great for chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_lucy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to right a review concerning your stay! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated first floor and breakfast area. We are very excited to show off the beautiful renovations. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the other amenities and were able to enjoy the fireworks at nearby Lakemont Park. I hope to you see again on your next trip to the Altoona area!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    135
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
261
101
24
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great mattress & wonderful pillows-we hope to order pillows when home. Duvet cover clean & neat.View out our window was of heat/ac roof vents, ugly, but not noisy. Temp easy to maintain w/ controls, which was good since the window didn't open & it was over 80F outside. King NS room, only 1 sink w/ very little space on vanity.Micro & frig in rm.Entry way tile to lobby was being laid-loose,hard to roll luggage over them. Breakfast good-hot & cold choices. Cracker Barrel next door. Not in scenic area.Rms in front face highway,not that close,but don't know about noise level.Rms in back face parking lot/shops. Pool looked nice,jacuzzi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we have to offer. I am glad that you liked the Hampton cloud nine bedding that we offer in our hotel.

If you are ever in the area again, we hope you will choose to stay with us!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

what a place clean room large king size bed, swimming pool with hot tub. staff went out of the way to make sure all was good with room. They will have mini fridgerators in room but until then just call front desk and ask for one. I will be back again. Breakfest was either hot or cold your choice plus a on the go bag if you need one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey concerning your stay at our hotel! I am glad to hear that our team was able to meet your needs. We hope to see you again soon if your travels are bringing you to the Altoona area!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First, the hotel is undergoing a renovation. The new breakfast area looks very nice. We stayed for one night in a king bedroom with sofa bed. The first thing I noticed were was wooden doors to enter the room.
When we entered the room I could tell the rooms have not been updated for quite a long time.Red carpets and the sofa was a bright flower print form the 80's. Carpet was torn in some areas. Glad to see a nice flat screen t.v. The phones were older models and the lights and lamps were worn as well.
the bathroom area was nice with a nice marble like countertop. The bead was comfortable and the linens wre plush.
I will say the indoor pool area was clean with older furnishings. The bathroom in the pool area was horrible with stained walls, rust and needed a big cleaning. The temp. in the pool was perfect.
I would love to know if the rooms, aka, carpet, sofas, lights will be updated during the removation process?
The breakfast was good and had lots to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sending a response concerning your stay at our hotel in Altoona, PA. We are going to be renovating the entire hotel including the guest rooms with all new furniture, as a complete renovation. We are making a brand new hotel for our valued guests like yourself!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnston, pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

here again, clean hotel, nice breakfast, just some uneven floors and odor due to remodeling, which is to be expected IF you know in advance that this is being done. pool was very nice and very refreshing, clean, hot tub was a nice temp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank skipsmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay our hotel in Altoona, PA. We are very excited about our newly remodeled lobby and breakfast areas as we are almost completed with this first phase. We are remodeling to serve our valued guests better and are very pleased with the outcome. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities such as our pool and hot tub.

i hope to see you again in the future,

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we are Diamond Club members. Stay at Hilton Honors hotels mainly Embassy Suites over 100 nights a year for the past 3 years. When we check into a hotel owned by the Hilton group we always ask for an upgrade.We have never had a problem getting an upgrade which is common courtesy for Diamond Club members. We have stayed all over the world and have never had an issue with this request. Staff at desk were courteous however were unable to give upgrade for our stay. Seemed to indicate needed manager approval for the days we would be staying.As a Diamond Club member we usually always get free bottled water, had to ask for it instead of it being offered to us.. As we were checking in at a late hour after driving over 1200 miles to come to our home town of Altoona, PA. When we got to our room no refrig..had to go back to desk to ask for room with a refrig...next morning had do not disturb sign on door until 10:15 am..left hotel, arrived back to hotel after 5 PM neither of our hotel keys worked to open room door. Got those fixed after going back down to desk..entered room, room not made up....went down to desk they said there had been a do not disturb sign on door..which was correct until 10:15am..was handed a stack of clean towels and a bag with soap and shampoo and sent on our way to our room which had not been touched....this was unacceptable after coming down to the desk 4 times for various problems....hotel front desk was polite but not accommadating and we really got the impression they did not really care about all the blunders of this short stay at this hotel...They are going through remodeling of the lobby and were jack hammering early in the morning on Monday June 3rd. When we arrived back to the hotel on the evening of June 3rd. a sign at the front door said to go to the back door due to remodeling lobby floor. This stay was just not relaxing and everything was a big HASSLE. We were to stay 4 nights however after our room was not made up on Monday we checked out of the hotel and went down the street to the Holiday Inn Express which was very accommadating. The rooms there come with a refrigerator, granola bar and popcorn in the room, two free bottles of water everyday in refrigerator and little peppermints also! Alot of other extra ammenities and no hassles...It was an unfortunate situation in our hometown. The rooms were not that clean or in great shape and the lobby was a mess ( mainly from remodeling)..I would recommend people stay down the boulevard at the Holiday Inn Express...

Room Tip: Ask for one facing Cracker Barrel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyLynn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for letting me know about your concerns with your stay on at our hotel. I sincerely apologize as it sounds like we did not do our best by you and your family during your stay. Our hotel has always been known for clean and comfortable rooms, which we are very proud of. I am sorry that you did not get to experience that part of our hotel during your stay. Diamond and Gold upgrades are very common as you mention in most facets of the Hilton portfolio, however in the case of a Hampton Inn it is actually the best available room. Most Hampton Inn's do not have suites so the best available room is what you would be upgraded to. We at this Hampton have 15 suites, all of which were occupied when you checked into your hotel room. Again no excuses as we strive to make sure that each and every guest leaves our hotel feeling satisfied and happy wth their stay.

Again I appreciate your comments concerning your stay , and I hope you will give us another chance will staying in the Altoona area.

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I cannot say enough about the service provided at this hotel. They are/were undergoing reservations. Room was fine, clean, and comfortable. The lobby was used for breakfast and while crowded and uncomfortable, we understood this was part of the process. Mind you, this was in April so it may be done. The indoor pool was nice and we were able to enjoy all to ourselves. If I return to this area, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to write a response concerning your stay our hotel!

I am very excited about our remodeled lobby and front desk areas. It is a clean and very upscale look that invites our valued guests like yourself to come and enjoy the wonderful deluxe continental breakfast! The renovations to the main part of our lobby have been completed and the staff and guests have been very pleased.

I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy our pool during your stay.

We all hope to see you again on your next visit to the Altoona area

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
0.5 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#9 of 15 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#8 of 15 in Altoona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Property: Hampton Inn Altoona
Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing