We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be better once remodeling is done, but its CLEAN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
johnston, pa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“will be better once remodeling is done, but its CLEAN”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

here again, clean hotel, nice breakfast, just some uneven floors and odor due to remodeling, which is to be expected IF you know in advance that this is being done. pool was very nice and very refreshing, clean, hot tub was a nice temp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank skipsmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay our hotel in Altoona, PA. We are very excited about our newly remodeled lobby and breakfast areas as we are almost completed with this first phase. We are remodeling to serve our valued guests better and are very pleased with the outcome. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities such as our pool and hot tub.

i hope to see you again in the future,

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    142
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
273
110
25
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we are Diamond Club members. Stay at Hilton Honors hotels mainly Embassy Suites over 100 nights a year for the past 3 years. When we check into a hotel owned by the Hilton group we always ask for an upgrade.We have never had a problem getting an upgrade which is common courtesy for Diamond Club members. We have stayed all over the world and have never had an issue with this request. Staff at desk were courteous however were unable to give upgrade for our stay. Seemed to indicate needed manager approval for the days we would be staying.As a Diamond Club member we usually always get free bottled water, had to ask for it instead of it being offered to us.. As we were checking in at a late hour after driving over 1200 miles to come to our home town of Altoona, PA. When we got to our room no refrig..had to go back to desk to ask for room with a refrig...next morning had do not disturb sign on door until 10:15 am..left hotel, arrived back to hotel after 5 PM neither of our hotel keys worked to open room door. Got those fixed after going back down to desk..entered room, room not made up....went down to desk they said there had been a do not disturb sign on door..which was correct until 10:15am..was handed a stack of clean towels and a bag with soap and shampoo and sent on our way to our room which had not been touched....this was unacceptable after coming down to the desk 4 times for various problems....hotel front desk was polite but not accommadating and we really got the impression they did not really care about all the blunders of this short stay at this hotel...They are going through remodeling of the lobby and were jack hammering early in the morning on Monday June 3rd. When we arrived back to the hotel on the evening of June 3rd. a sign at the front door said to go to the back door due to remodeling lobby floor. This stay was just not relaxing and everything was a big HASSLE. We were to stay 4 nights however after our room was not made up on Monday we checked out of the hotel and went down the street to the Holiday Inn Express which was very accommadating. The rooms there come with a refrigerator, granola bar and popcorn in the room, two free bottles of water everyday in refrigerator and little peppermints also! Alot of other extra ammenities and no hassles...It was an unfortunate situation in our hometown. The rooms were not that clean or in great shape and the lobby was a mess ( mainly from remodeling)..I would recommend people stay down the boulevard at the Holiday Inn Express...

Room Tip: Ask for one facing Cracker Barrel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyLynn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for letting me know about your concerns with your stay on at our hotel. I sincerely apologize as it sounds like we did not do our best by you and your family during your stay. Our hotel has always been known for clean and comfortable rooms, which we are very proud of. I am sorry that you did not get to experience that part of our hotel during your stay. Diamond and Gold upgrades are very common as you mention in most facets of the Hilton portfolio, however in the case of a Hampton Inn it is actually the best available room. Most Hampton Inn's do not have suites so the best available room is what you would be upgraded to. We at this Hampton have 15 suites, all of which were occupied when you checked into your hotel room. Again no excuses as we strive to make sure that each and every guest leaves our hotel feeling satisfied and happy wth their stay.

Again I appreciate your comments concerning your stay , and I hope you will give us another chance will staying in the Altoona area.

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I cannot say enough about the service provided at this hotel. They are/were undergoing reservations. Room was fine, clean, and comfortable. The lobby was used for breakfast and while crowded and uncomfortable, we understood this was part of the process. Mind you, this was in April so it may be done. The indoor pool was nice and we were able to enjoy all to ourselves. If I return to this area, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to write a response concerning your stay our hotel!

I am very excited about our remodeled lobby and front desk areas. It is a clean and very upscale look that invites our valued guests like yourself to come and enjoy the wonderful deluxe continental breakfast! The renovations to the main part of our lobby have been completed and the staff and guests have been very pleased.

I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy our pool during your stay.

We all hope to see you again on your next visit to the Altoona area

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was outstanding; warm, fresh and inviting. Easy access into and out of the parking lot. It was a very pleasant experience and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I am glad to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time while staying at the hotel. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer such as our breakfast and that you found it easy to access the hotel from the highway.

All of the team here at the Hampton Inn Altoona appreciate your business and we all look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

wonderful staff, great breakfast, easy on to freeway. I would stay there ahagin with my family. right next door to Champs and other nice restaurants. They gave us a rate discount related to St. Francis University, our son was residing there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank danielboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay at our hotel! We appeciate that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer at the hotel. Since you have a loved one attending St. Francis University we hope to that you will choose to stay with us again in the future!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. Usually stay at Hamptons because of the amenities. This location did not disappoint. The location was very convenient both in access to the highway and for places to eat. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I appreciate that you chose our hotel for your stay while in the Altoona area! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the many amenities that the hotel has to offer. I am glad that you enjoyed the area that our hotel is located in with the many shops and restaurants to choose from.

If you are in the Altoona area in the future I hope that you will choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This property lives up to the Hampton quality and is conveniently located next to the interstate and in a commercial corridor. The lobby was under remodeling but everything else was very nice and as always the beds were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! and that you enjoyed the busy area that the hotel is located in. We are very excited about our lobby renovations and look forward to bringing you an updated breakfast area as well as lobby in the not too distant future!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
419 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
0.5 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Property: Hampton Inn Altoona
Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing