We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn & Suites Allentown
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Stayed at the Microtel over the Memorial Day weekend '05 (Fri-Sat night). Can't complain about the room rate, but there are reasons for it being inexpensive. The room is, in fact, micro (while individual hotels are franchised, the system is run by the No. American division of the French chain and the rooms reflect a "European-sized" scale). The double bed just fitted into the room, but was fairly comfortable. Bathroom fixtures are "Home Depot" basic grade--utilitarian. The room was well-cleaned each day (they replaced the original secretarial chair that was stained with a clean one). The front desk was pathetic--the room phone kept flashing that there was a message the entire two days, but when I called the front desk to inquire about it, I was told that a new voice mail message system was being installed and the phone would continue to flash until the new system was up and running. A friend had, in fact, called me while I was out and left a message. Guess the front desk didn't want to be bothered. Avoid the pitiful continental breakfast--grab a coffee and bagel at one of the numerous places on Airport Rd. OK for a single person for a night or two, but for couples or families it is awfully cramped quarters.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank donethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 154 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed May 2, 2005

At first I thought we had gotten a good deal- only 40 dollars a night. Our room was small but it was big enough to sleep in. The hallways were old and the hallways stunk of smoke. Our neighbor was up all night with the television loud so we asked him to lower it and finally he did. Then at 330am we heard loud rap music and people shouting like there was a party. The hotel was very noisey. The continental breakfast was made up of cold cereal. The staff was not friendly saying hello or goodbye or even asking us how our stay was. I guess that is what you get for 40 dollars. I wouldve gladly paid 70 or 80 dollars a night to have stayed at more expensive hotel across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2004

This was our second stay here. Last time, we had a room on the first floor facing toward the back of the hotel. No problem then. This time we were on the second floor, facing the front. The place is in need of repair, and apparently they are renovating it. I hope they plan on fixing the floors. The hallway floor looked warped and seemed like it was made of very flimsy material. It seemed unstable and we could hear ever step made from the floor above us. Structurally it was like a big trailer home! In our room, we could hear everything (and I mean everything) going on in the next room late into the night. We were awakened several times during the night by noise from outside as well. They need to install better quality windows that seal properly. We were finally awakened for the day by what sounded like a room of stampeding animals above us at 4:30 a.m. This place is in serious need of sound-proofing. The heater made loud noise if we turned it on, so we just left it off. The shower head was pitiful with only a dribble of water, not a pleasant find after a bad night. It was a horrible experience. We were booked for 2 nights but checked out early. The woman at the front desk didn't ask how everything was, nor did she ask why we had to check out early. They have a ton of work to do to fix things here. On the lighter side, it's a fairly clean place. No smell of smoke in the non-smoking room. The continental breakfast had improved from our last stay with plenty of bagels, english muffins, fresh apples, blueberry muffins, cereals and such. Coffee and tea are available 24 hours.

6  Thank baybay2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2004

We stayed mid week--a Weds. night. I thought this hotel was excellent for the price ($50). It was very clean, free coffee any time. And my son loved the window seat!! It was very convenient to Dorney Park and lots of places to eat nearby.

4  Thank basketnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2004

We recently stayed at the Microtel Inn. I am always skeptical of the economy chains, due to some previous bad experiences, however I was satisfied. The rooms are EXTREMELY small. We had a king room and there was barely enough room for our luggage, but we only slept there, so really it's not a big deal. For the price I paid I was happy.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank niklaus_ammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Aracelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allentown
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Allentown Airport
1.2 mi away
Days Hotel Allentown Airport / Lehigh Valley
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Allentown
Super 8 Allentown
#20 of 31 in Allentown
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The View Inn & Suites
The View Inn & Suites
#14 of 14 in Bethlehem
267 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Allentown
Sleep Inn Allentown
#9 of 31 in Allentown
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn & Suites Allentown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn & Suites Allentown

Address: 1880 Steelstone Rd, Allentown, PA 18109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: $58 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn & Suites Allentown 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn & Suites Allentown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn And Suites Allentown Hotel Allentown
Microtel Hotel Allentown
Microtel Allentown
Allentown Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing