We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here last weekend and enjoyed it. The location is a bit odd, but it really isn't that far from several restaurants and decent wineries. We had two rooms, both of which were clean and comfortable. My biggest complaint is that the tv service is awful. Channels come and go with service interruptions. You can easily find yourself with some downtime in Allentown, so the tv was actually being used, but I suppose it just gave me more time sleeping in my comfy HI bed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank number2cac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    151
    95
    75
    26
See reviews for
161
125
42
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Take the time to check out the great, comfortable, clean rooms they offer. I loved my stay at Hampton and I travel quite a lot, so I was very impressed with this hotel. My ex[erience was fantastic. I would recommend these hotels to anyone travelling the USA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We always look for Hampton Inns whenever we are on the road because of their consistent quality and value. Unfortunately in this case you can't judge a hotel by its name! Although the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful upon check-in, the physical quality of the hotel was in a word- dismal. The rugs were worn, the bathroom was extremely outdated and shabby, and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was not on par with most Hampton Inns. On top of everything else...on the one morning that we were able to sleep late, the maids knocked on our door at 8:30 to ask if we were ready to have the room cleaned! When we told the front desk manager about this situation, with a nonplussed response he merely told us that he'd speak with the maids. The location of this hotel is absolutely off the beaten track, in the back of an industrial park. If you're looking for characteristics that you normally expect from a Hilton location, don't book your reservations here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, General Manager at Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. Again, I apologize for all of the inconveniences and I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at this property for one night, on business. Having stayed at many hotels under the Hampton banner this one fell short of my expectations. The overall cleanliness of the room was okay. Carpets had dirt around the base of the furniture and the bed linens were stained. The bathtub was in poor condition, a shoddy repair job was attempted, paint was peeling etc. Shower head was dirty and the water stream was all over the place. The shower curtain had an awful odor and there was the presence of mold/mildew in the bathroom.

Simple fixes like shower curtains and shower heads should be mandatory at a hotel under this banner, i will choose another hotel when passing through the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Hampton is always a good place to stay. Their beds are super comfy and I love their duvets. The staff was helpful when you spoke to them but they never greeted people when they came in with a welcome, hello, good morning, good evening, nothing. Breakfast is adequate. I'm not sure what the scrambled "eggs" are made out of or the rubber "omelets". I asked the server what the eggs were made out of and she said eggs. Hmmm...I've tasted and cooked eggs before and they didn't look or taste like that. They have coffee and hot water for tea 24/7, which is great, and cookies in the evening M-Th.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton, and the room and furniture were nice. However, the bathtub was disgustingly dirty! We could hardly believe it was a Hampton!

There was so much black mold in between tiles in the tub, not to mention the fact that no one had used Liquid Plummer on the drain in years. We were above our ankles in standing water while showering, which was beyond gross! Those are other peoples' germs sitting on your skin and coming up from the drains! The housekeeping staff on the 4th floor ought to be given a serious talk by management. There is no way they could "clean" the bathtub and not notice the lack of draining. In fact, after the showers, we did an experiment and ran a little water into the tub--a small amount took over 10 minutes to drain! There is no excuse at all for this, and there is also no excuse for black mold on the tiles. There are endless cleaning products these days, not to mention plain bleach, that remove this mold. This was over $120 a night hotel room, and the bathtub was like a $29 motel in a crappy part of town--no excuse for lack of cleanliness.

The hotel room seemed nice, and the front desk people were friendly. But, because of that awful bathtub, we cannot recommend this hotel, until the manager gets housekeeping to clean it up properly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, General Manager at Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback of your recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping and maintenance teams to correct the problem. I understand the presence of mold and slow draining tub were of concern; I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority and we know our guests deserve better than this. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us and experience an improved quality of accommodations the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Thank you,
Timothy A. Marhefka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Hampton Inn Allentown PA. There was nothing wrong with the hotel except the location-next to a busy highway. I could hear the traffic noise way into the night. Don't stay at this hotel if traffic noise bothers you. Stay elsewhere for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnNJNewJersey_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, General Manager at Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us in Allentown. I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered from nearby traffic as our guests’ comfort and satisfaction is my number one concern. We know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and apologize this was not your experience. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again so we might show you the quiet quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you
Timothy A. Marhefka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allentown
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Allentown
Sleep Inn Allentown
#8 of 30 in Allentown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lehigh Valley West
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Property: Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Address: 7471 Keebler Way, Allentown, PA 18106-9302 (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton Allentown)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best choice is the beautiful Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels. We are excited to offer well appointed guest rooms with upgraded amenities including over 100 HD channels while enjoying an excellent night's sleep in incredibly comfortable beds. Be energized with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, which includes a wide selection of hot and cold items. Need do some work or watch a movie then please utilize our complimentary wireless internet service throughout the hotel. Take a relaxing swim in our indoor salt water pool, get that work out in at our on site fitness center. Loosen up after a long day in our guest social zone. If the needed we have a coin operated laundry facility or same day dry cleaning available. Please take advantage of our large complimentary parking area which can accommodate multiple buses and vehicles if necessary. Do not forget to take advantage of our staff to find some “hidden gem's” in our local area to visit, we will love to share with you all the Leigh Valley has to offer during your stay both business and pleasure. We look forward to sharing with you our unique and new property, if you have a need for us we are here for for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Allentown Hotel Allentown
Allentown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing