We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Springfield, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Having stayed at a fabulous Hampton Inn in NJ, we had hoped to stay in one in Allentown as well, but we chose the Crowne Plaza because it had a room + amusement park tickets deal.

Extremely slow check-in service was not a great first impression. And the manager was not on hand to give us our tickets.

The room was clean and neat but smelled like a wet dog - we think they had recently shampooed the carpets but had not given them sufficient time to dry.

The restaurant was closed for renovation and the continental breakfast (included in the package) was meager, cold and served in a bland inside banquet room with only one server on duty.

On the plus side: the location was good, the indoor pool would be a welcome distraction in winter and Dorney Park (nearby amusement park) was fabulous - we had a lot of fun there with our kids.

  • Liked — Package (hotel rooms + amusement park tickets)
  • Disliked — slow service, smell of room, cold meager breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Hampton Inn would be a better choice in this town
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeRTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    68
    40
    30
See reviews for
66
48
18
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I paid around $116 for a King bedded room. The hotel was fine for that price point as you can't get too much for so little. The first room I had was nice and clean but did have an odor or cat urine disguised by deodorant. They changed my room immediately. Ver y nice hotel staff. The second room was nice as well. Some hairs which were not mine the the bathtub but that was it....otherwise very clean. Pillows were hard but bed was comfortable. TV reception not great on certain channels. Room was very quiet.

I would stay here again for the money. I would however rate this a 3 or a the most 3.5 star and not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank larover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Enjoyed my stay. I traveled to allentown on business and stayed at Crowne Plaza. Good service!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarahface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

My wife and I were here for the drum corps show, so the hotel was full and very busy. We were given a very clean king room with a comfortable bed, though it was not one of the fancy ones the hotel advertises.

The front desk staff was busy but helpful. The room was clean, but there were cigarette burns on the carpet - odd for a non-smoking room. The bathroom had nice new counters and sink faucets, but the shower water control and spout were old, and the pipe was loose in the wall, so we didn't dare try the massage shower head.

We printed out an online coupon from the local tourism bureau and that got us a free hot breakfast buffet.

The hotel is easy to get to downtown, and the neighborhood seems safe, but there was a homeless man wandering through the lobby when we checked in. It didn't bother me, but it's something to be aware of.

Overall, not bad but not great. We slept well, ate well, and were in a good location. If we were in Allentown again and got a good rate, I'd consider it.

Helpful?
3 Thank LovePgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Booked this hotel on hotwire, all in all, for the price, it was ok. As other reviews stated, the hotel is in a bad part of town, but I did not feel unsafe coming and going as the hotel is right next to the parking garage. I would certainly understand though a female staying alone not feeling safe in going between the hotel and parking lot.
Good things :room was comfortable, nice, spacious.
Not Good things : The wireless connection was down the last day and a half of my stay, the neighborhood is terrible, upon arrival on my second night, there were about 8 cop cars in front of the hotel, and a bunch of police inside. It sounded like they had chased someone into the hotel and the person had gotten on the elevator and they were searching for him throughout the hotel. I was a bit nervous going up to my room, but there were about 6 policemen on the elevator with me. (I was on my own when I got off on my floor though!) Also as I was leaving, the elevator broke down and could not get off my floor. I found a cleaning person and they at first said to take the stairs. (No way from the top floors with a heavy suticase. They did end up taking me down the service elevator, so all worked out in the end.(
Final assessment: Would I stay here again, probably not, but if nothing else for the money could be found, would not be opposed to a return.

  • Liked — comfortable room
  • Disliked — bad part of town
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Revilo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

Service was mediocre at the Crown Plaza Allentown. Special requests that I included in the reservation were not honored or even mentioned at check-in, and the disinterested front desk clerk obviously was not focused on her work. One layer of the ceiling in the bathroom looked like it could fall off in pretty good sized chunks at any time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden Retriever Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

I must agree with some of the previous posters. The customer service is great and the people who work there really go above and beyond to try to help, but it's like they know they are fighting a losing battle.

I ate at the bar for dinner (hamburger) and it was fine. Breakfast was very good, and we had complimentary coupons. The problems were with general noise level in the rooms due to the proximity of the street, and the condition of the elevators. Elevators are old and rickety, and when I opened the door to my room on the second floor it was literally 100 degrees in there because someone had opened the window on the hottest day of the year. The maid apparently didn't notice. All night there were sounds of loud car mufflers and motorcycles, teenagers yelling and large dump trucks. The door of the room let in a lot of light, and the sounds of neighbors in the hall yelling, talking, and slamming doors. The ice machine was right by the door and it was very loud as well. In the morning, despite the DND sign on my door, the maid tried repeatedly to get in. I had the door deadbolted and finally answered, pointing to the "do not disturb" sign. She spoke no English of course, but I thought the sign, the deadbolt and the late checkout I confirmed at the desk would have been enough. The complimentary shuttle was out running errands at Home Depot at the time I had signed up for a shuttle ride to the hotel. We ended up taking a cab instead, paid for by the Crowne Plaza folks. Like I said, the employees try hard.

The neighborhood is a rough one, and the bartender warned us not to go walking anywhere at night, and be careful in the day.

  • Liked — nice beds
  • Disliked — neighborhood, noise, expensive menu except at the bar
  • Tips/Secrets — stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on the other side of the river...
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dmc10662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#16 of 30 in Allentown
197 reviews
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Address: 904 W Hamilton St, Allentown, PA 18101-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing