We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel with GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK Hotel with GREAT STAFF”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The hotel does not have easy access. This hotel is downtown and you have to park in a garage across the street at a cost of 6.00 per day. The hotel does have a round about to load and unload your vehicle, however it was blocked by moving vans and other large vehicles. We were booked into a king room which was small due to the amount of furniture. The room was pretty clean, a few cob webs in the corners, peeling wallpaper, and stains on the bathroom floor and tolet. The shower was a little complicated to use, the knob kept turning around without shutting the water off. (You had to find just the right position) There is a restraunt in the hotel which is very pricey. They do not offer complimentary breakfast at this hotel like Holiday Inn Express. (We paid 24.00 for the same breakfast. Way over priced!) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Especially one young man who was the bellhop. He really went out of his way to meet are needs. Overall, the hotel is OK, but not up to Holiday Inn standards.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrhobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    88
    73
    41
    30
See reviews for
68
50
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We were going to the Lehigh Valley/Poconos area for the weekend...I used Priceline.com to book 2 rooms for the night at a midway point which was the Allentown area...through priceline.com I got the rooms for $50 each--priceline had this hotel listed as a 2 star hotel...After booking, I came on here (tripadvisor) to read the reviews...most of the reviews were from late 2008 and seemed to be when this hotel was being renovated. So, most people weren't too happy. I and my family absolutely loved this spot!!! The rooms were spacious (2 double beds in each), the decor was beautiful, the rooms smelled soooooo clean..each time we walked it we said "wow! that smells so fresh and clean!", the staff was very pleasant. We didn't use the pool because we had gone swimming all day long, and we didn't use the restaurant or bar because we ate out ---there's a great shopping center about 3 miles away with a bunch of restaurants, fast food places, a supermarket, etc...along the 3 mile drive there were a few restaurants also....within walking distance there's a 7eleven and a RiteAid pharmacy, a diner, and more! This location was so very convenient...not "sketchy" as someone else put it. The parking was across the street behind the hotel but so what...it's a small street anyway!! It only cost $6/day! A steal!! (you just have to make sure the front desk validates your parking ticket). We didn't get a fridge or microwave because they cost $10/day but we just brought a cooler and filled it with free ice from the ice machines (one on each floor). We also had free wireless connection in our rooms!
This hotel was a gem! Thanks to everyone who wrote a bad review...my hopes weren't too high..but when I got there, I was sooo pleasantly surprised. Loved it! Would definitely go back! Great Central Location!! We went to Beltzville State Park (which as a beach on the lake!), the DaVinci Center at Cedar Crest College --across from the shopping center (we got in for free with reciprication from our membership at the Franklin Institute in Phila), Lost River Caverns in Hellertown --about 25 mins away...and we ate at TGIFridays/ Wendy's/ Dunkin' Donuts/ 7eleven. Oh! I almost forgot...St. Luke's hospital, Dorney Park , and the Poconos are nearby also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WittyLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed in a King Sofa bed room on the ninth floor. Staff was very courteous and efficient with requests. Room was of suitable size, clean, and beds comfortable. AIr conditioner is the typical window unit that worked fine although a bit noisy. Although in a non-smoking room which was surrounded by other non-smoking rooms, there was always a smoke, musty smell present. There were curtains on the window but no draperies so filtered light brightens up the room during night time which may make it hard to sleep for some. Wireless internet was free and worked fine in this room. As one reviewer said, the neighborhood is "sketchy" and there are not many restaurants within walking distance if you do want to venture outside. Overall, this is an average hotel with the standard amenities and OK for an overnite stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

there was a posotive energy in this hotel. from the front desk staff to the cleaners, everyone had a s,ile on their face. Other visitors at the hotel were also very friendly.

  • Liked — people
  • Disliked — toilets
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lawyer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Hotwire for 49 bucks was a steal! Due the impending snowstorm on the day of our arrival, we called a day ahead of time and asked if we could check in very early thereby beating the worst of the storm. We were told it would not be a problem (no extra charge) and they were great as we checked in at 8:30 AM just as the snow was beginning to fall. The front desk lady was extremely pleasant and friendly. Yes, there was only one elevator working but that was not an issue for us. Yes, the interior of the hotel shows some age but it all appeared to be very clean. The best part was our room! HUGE, which was great for the wife and I as we were hunkered down in there for a long time! The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. The desk with the nice office chair was super as I could use my laptop with the free wireless working great. The room was very clean and the towels were very fluffy! Yes, the bathroom is small but that is not an issue for us. As for the surrounding neighborhood, we both went running both mornings individually and neither of us felt as if we were in a bad neighborhood. No one bothered us at all. We brought all of our own food and drinks so we did not use the restaurant nor go outside at night. All in all, we were extremely happy with everything about this hotel! Great staff!

  • Liked — The price from Hotwire!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nriemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Well, after a horrendous stay at this property last year (it had been deemed a Crowne Plaza) they finally got it right. Checked in a large group of soccer teams and except for the lack of enough cots everything was great. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, and the restaurant ran as it should - except for one glitch with a missing drink - the waiter made up for it by comping one of our meals as a "sorry it won't happen again". Overall, a great stay.

  • Liked — The bar is large an located right off the pool
  • Disliked — Pool is too small to stay in if you are watching younger children
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweetloraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I could write a long winded piece here but I wont waste the time - others have covered the problems. Don't stay here it is dirty and located in bad part of town. There were unpleasant people in the lobby while we were there and a sign on the inside of our room door telling us to engage the dead bolt while we were in the room. This is a dump.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DcBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
7.7 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#16 of 30 in Allentown
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Address: 904 W Hamilton St, Allentown, PA 18101-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing