We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Holiday Inn Center City has the most polite staff. From Denise at the Lobby to Crystal in the restaurant, each of the staff members helped make this experience memorable. Traveling as a family is a balancing act. They have made it pleasurable, The rooms were clean and the staff wonderful. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We greatly appreciate the response that you left in regards to your recent stay here with us. We will let the staff know how much of a great job they did servicing! We appreciate your business and hope you choose us for your accommodations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and quite! Indoor pool was awesome! Staff was very pleasant and helpful!! When I arrived my check in was quick and easy. Was informed of all amnesties, which was very helpful when it. America to dinner. The 904 lounge was good food for a fair price

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we hope you come and stay with us again when your in the area. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had previously stayed with this hotel a number of times when it was Crowne Plaza. My late Mother-In-Law lived just a few blocks away, and we could just leave our car in the garage and walk down. I had not been back since it was upgraded. While it was slightly "tired" when it was Crowne Plaza, it was still always clean, and well staffed.

We chose this hotel for my husband's annual birthday return to his old stomping grounds (he grew up in Allentown) after having mediocre stays with other hotels in the past. It didn't start out great - Hotwire messed up our reservation somehow (never had that happen before) but that was quickly remedied by Morrel (not sure how to spell his name) who was absolutely amazing. He couldn't put us in a king, but he got us a room on the correct date, and that was all I cared about. He could have washed his hands of us and told us that he couldn't help because it was a Hotwire booking, but he was super helpful.

We were wowed when we checked in at the upgrades since the re-branding. Check-in was chaotic, but we quickly noticed that there was more than one wedding, and the hotel was also hosting people who were attending a gymnastics meet, and a basketball competition. Even so, Denise was extremely composed and helpful. I told her I don't know how she does it, as I would have lost my cool with some of the people that were ahead of us.

Our room was clean and quiet. The only downside was keeping the room cool, but that was more the weather outside than anything the hotel could do about it. There were darkening curtains there, but they were sort of hidden, so if you don't see them immediately, keep looking. We were hoping to try the restaurant for breakfast, but we ended up with a change of plans, and didn't make it. Will be sure to try it next time.

Center City isn't the best location in the world, but at least I didn't find hypodermic needles in the parking lot or creepy people digging in the trash, like we did at another hotel in a supposedly more desirable location. We walked up and down for two blocks in either direction and had no problems at all. Just be careful in the garage - someone parked us in so tightly we couldn't get in to our car. My husband ended up crawling in from the passenger side and working it out that way. When we returned, we parked on a higher level on an end space.

Will be happy to return to the Holiday Inn on our next trip down!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funky-rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We appreciate the review that your left in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as a returning customer. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Living in the Newark area and working in NYC I wanted a weekend get a way just to relax and this hotel delivered that needed get away. From check in with the nice unique name to dinner n drinks I was happy. checkout the lady who checked me.gave me directions it was so nice to be treated so nice.
the bar and restauRant staff omg you two who were at the bar did something amazing were polite and really thank you
also the chef making my dinner right due to my diet that is unheard of in NYC and creating a cheese platter
thank you this was the perfect getaway. while not in the best hood everything is here clean pool nice gym with everything working and the best staff. Will return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my_life_is_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We are glad that your chose the holiday In as your getaway location, with that said we appreciate you leaving a review. We hope to see you again in the near future. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel because we were in town for a funeral. We were a party of 14 and didnt have reservations we were quickly checked in and in our rooms with no problems. The rooms were spacious and welcoming. Also they were very clean. I really enjoyed a good night sleep on an awesome mattress!!!

I would like to thank Denise for her EXEPTIONAL customer service and if Im in the area again I will definately come and stay at this Holiday Inn. Thank you so much for all of your help. I know you must of thought that we were a bunch of crazies, but you made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

The staff at the holiday in would like to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your recent stay, service is very important to us. We will let Denise know what a great job she did making sure you guys were comfortable while here with us. We hope to see you again and we greatly appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staff is very nice. Manager gave us free breakfast as a reward as no one was there at front desk to greet us at check in. Bar was nice, bartender was very helpful. She talked to us about area. My complaints about the room is that there are only full sized beads in the room. I am a tall guy and the bed was too small for my wife and I . Why not have two queen sized beds in the room as the room was large and could accommodate the larger beds? Also, the room did not not have shades or drapes which brought the light into the room earlier than expected. Overall nice hotel but in a sketchy neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JN889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelyn S, Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We would like to apologize that you felt our hotel was not safe with that said it is hard because were in a center city location. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked into the lobby of Allentown's City Center Holiday Inn we were greeted by a wonderful, welcoming, caring staff who have us great recommendations for dining outside of the hotel, called our room to make sure that everything was ok with our accommodations, and even signed us up with Holiday Inn's frequent traveler rewards program. This hotel is located within just a couple of blocks of some great restaurants and a parking garage were guests can park their car free of charge. Allentown's downtown district has a reputation for being a bit sketchy, but we felt more than safe as we ventured out and walked front the hotel to a nearby micro-brewery for dinner. The next time we visit Allentown we will stay at this very comfortable and professionally staffed hotel.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Ravherber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We are so happy to hear that we provided great service while you were here with us. It means a lot to us to hear that you liked our hotel and accommodations. Please come and see us again when you visit Allentown. We greatly appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
7.7 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Address: 904 W Hamilton St, Allentown, PA 18101-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: $119 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing