We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Maybe.....”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Pros:
-Clean Room
-Room Service Available
-Front Desk Staff Pleasant and Helpful
-Nicely lit meeting space
-Okay distance to event location (Art Museum)
-Was able to check in early
-Was able to modify reservation
-Plenty of Luggage carriers


Cons:
-AREA IS UNDER HEAVY CONSTRUCTION! Downtown is growing so be on the alert
-Not enough towels and qty not replenished
-Room Service sslllooowwwwww
-They FRY their steaks!
-Broken Air Conditioner - took hours to get fixed - and the fact that he was ready and able to replace the unit tells me they were already aware of the issue.
-Poor staffing, attitude of staff and late opening of restaurant/bar
-Meeting room tables not correct - was not offered correction by hotel staff who was meadering around picking and choosing who he would help. I was unable to leave my table to run after him for the brief time he was in the room.
-NO ONE to help you to your room - hotel is understaffed - one person at desk, one in dining/bar area....

Overall I was satisfied - but this is NOT a "destination" hotel - just a clean place to hang your hat when in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay here in Allentown, I appreciate you leaving feedback in regards to your stay here with us. We will make sure to make some changes in the areas where we can improve. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    84
    67
    40
    30
See reviews for
65
48
18
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel was rated 3 stars on Hotwire. I feel that the rating was a bit high. The hotel was acceptable - lobby smelled of chlorine - rooms were only average in condition. Hotel was located in a questionable part of Allentown - more like the slums! My husband was with me and I was still leery of staying there. We would not stay there again for any reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bina0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We regret to hear that you didn't feel safe in the area, and our lobby smells like chlorine because our indoor swimming pool is right of the lobby. We take our guests feedback seriously so we will do what we can to make things better for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn City Center Allentown for the IlluXCon convention. It was the convention hotel. It was nice & offered an affordable conference rate of $89/night plus tax. The garage parking was really affordable...$6/day. This was the least expensive hotel we stayed in on our cross-country trip to get to PA.

The bulk of the convention was at the Allentown Museum of Art, which was about a 1/2 mile walk along Hamilton. There were enough restaurants nearby & it seemed generally safe during the day or in a group. Although it is advised to not wander around aimlessly off the beaten path.

Within walking distance, there is a lovely linear park with a hike/bike path along the Lehigh River. And there are some nice parks within 3-5 miles.

Being from the Southwest, I had preconceived notions of Allentown that were a bit off. It actually is a pretty interesting town that has a lovely park system, interesting architecture & a history.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetHopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are happy to hear that we were able to provide great service for you and your entire group that was here. We look forward to having you guys again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a good-but-not-great hotel in the center of Allentown. (It's a bit hard to find because its address is on Hamilton, but the entrance is around the side and not really visible.) There was nothing outstanding, but nothing really bad. (My two complaints are that they stuck us in a double-double, which made the beds way too small and uncomfortable, and the shower exhaust fan blew *in*. Smelled pretty good in the morning, though, with the odor of breakfast coming in.) The wifi was wimpy.

Room Tip: Don't get a double-double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay here with us, we will work on making it easier to see the location of the hotel. We apologize you weren't put in a room that best fit your and your guests. If your ever in the area again please give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wanted to extend my husband's ski trip at Bear Creek Mountain, so I jumped on a bidding site and was offered a low price on a "3 star hotel" in Allentown.

To preface: All the staff at this hotel are actually very lovely, and I feel sorry for them. They obviously care and are doing the best they can. I called Holiday Inn Corporate this morning to complain.

The air quality in our room was so bad that we started having breathing problems and migraines. I had a couple of surgical masks (from a visit to an immuno-compromised relative) in our luggage, so we wore them so we could get some sleep. Holiday Inn Corporate did NOTHING. They saw that I was a bidding website customer, called me "price conscious," called the Front Desk before we checked out (which I asked him NOT to do), and said he could get us a room at Staybridge or the other Holiday Inn for $120-140.

Here's the problem. Based on basic amenities, I suppose this hotel has certain things: attached restaurant, morning breakfast, pool, fitness center, etc. The problem is that the hotel is super-old, with really bad air in the ductwork. The room is also sub-par. In order to fix the problem, I think the hotel would have to start from scratch, demolish the whole thing, or rip out all the ductwork. Expensive, right?

And since the clients of the hotel are either people who don't mind or notice, or are coming off of bidding websites, the hotel figures it can sacrifice the quality and just keep riding along. Corporate clients would certainly never stay here, so they keep it as a lower-tier hotel. I am FURIOUS at the bidding website for scamming me with a "3 star" rating. This is a 2 star hotel, at best. If you have a choice, DO NOT STAY HERE. If you are booking in the Allentown area with blind bids: PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

Here's the other tip, folks: if you have an annoyed customer like me, coming of a bidding website, you might offer me 50% off a room at your chain of hotels for a 2nd night. And maybe don't insult me and call me "price conscious." Then you wouldn't have a "price conscious" but SOCIAL MEDIA SAVVY person, angry and writing bad reviews on Trip Advisor. Bad form, Holiday Inn. Bad form.

Room Tip: There are a ton of hotels up the road. Go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We regret to hear that you couldn't breath in your room while you were here with us, we are looking in to that to see what we can do to make it better for our guests. We take guest comments very seriously and are working to make things better every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Don't let prior bad reviews of this hotel scare you. It's got a parking garage, on site restaurant that served a breakfast buffet for only $8.95, clean comfortable rooms, coffee makers and coffee in the lounge. Fridges with ice compartment in the suites. I booked a room here since it was the preferred hotel for my event. But I was afraid. No need to worry. I was pleasantly surprised by the helpful staff and the amenities. It's not fabulous for the price, but it's fine. I'll stay here again. The only thing that was a surprise was that the entrance is on the side street. You have to turn right immediately after passing the front of the hotel. (I wish someone had told me that when I booked my room.) The pool looked clean and was a cute squarish shape--not suitable for lap swimming.

Room Tip: Suites are large with a king bed, closet, and kitchen with an ice compartment in the fridge! Perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel, we appreciate you stating that you enjoyed your stay. Next time your in the area please choose us as your local where you will stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Allentown. Overall it was a good experience -- with a few pros and cons.

We arrived late at night, and the man at the desk was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, every staff member we met was very pleasant -- answering our questions, helping us print out materials at the front desk and making sure we had everything we needed.

The room was pretty standard. I'm not sure if I'd call it a 3-star hotel (as described by Priceline), but it was clean. It also had great AC, which is always a good thing. Some of the cons included beds that weren't all that comfortable, a broken ice machine on our floor, no fridge or microwave in the room and a fee for parking ($6). It was also disappointing that housekeeping never cleaned our room during our two-night stay.

The surrounding area is a little iffy, but I didn't find it to be as bad as some other reviewers. The street on which it's located is actually kind of charming, and it looks to me as if they are trying to build up the area. My boyfriend and I went out walking around midnight -- no one bothered us and we felt safe. We went into the Allentown BrewWorks -- a fantastic pub that's about a block away. I highly recommend you check it out if you stay here. The hotel is also close to Dorney Park -- about 3 miles. Though there are plenty of hotels across from the park -- including a Holiday Inn.

So if you need to be in the area, it's not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBear24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123staff, Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate you leaving a review of the hotel and we hope that you come stay with us again if your in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#15 of 30 in Allentown
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Address: 904 W Hamilton St, Allentown, PA 18101-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing