We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar food close to the ballpark”

Copperhead Grille - Allentown
Ranked #9 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a place where food and sports merge to form a mini vacation from the everyday grind. Where armchair quarterbacks can question every call on our 130" HD Projection TVs. Where homemade recipes and 16 beers on tap are the substitute for stale vendor dogs and luke warm beer. We make you feel like part of our family. This might not be what you expect from a place that surrounds you in your favorite sporting events. For this reason, we ask that you refrain from the terms "Sports Pub" or "Sports Bar." Although we came from the same lineage; we are THE EVOLUTION. WE ARE COPPERHEAD GRILLE. The 1st Sports Grille!
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good bar food close to the ballpark”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went here with my family, 3 adults, 3 kids. The bar was closed for renovation, so although beers on tap were advertised everywhere, we were told that we were unable to get one, and no discounts on the bottles, either. Service was iffy, the waitress had to be flagged down several times for checking on us, and then neglected to use a coupon we had when calculating the bill. We had a bit of a medical scare when my sister got food stuck in her esophagus, and the owner or manager did check on her a few times, but the waitress just kept trying to clear the table even though she was told to leave it, that they'd be back (from the bathroom). The chili was ok, the taco salad was ok (the shell not very crispy). The best part of the meal was the hot mozzarella sticks, (which I would recommend). Otherwise, just an average meal experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillyeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Copperhead Grille - Allentown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
hillyeee, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent visit to Copperhead. We noticed in your review that you were disappointed that our beers on tap were unavailable despite the fact they were advertised as being so. As you mentioned, our bar was under renovation. Unfortunately this process, although completed fairly quickly, disabled the ability for us to serve from our taps. If future renovations ever occur that disrupt the ability to serve from our taps, we will definitely make sure to let our fans and guests know.

We have passed along your comments in regards to the service that you received. We pride ourselves in having both a very polite and attentive waitstaff. What you experienced was certainly a deviation from the norm and we want to apologize for this. Please know that we have taken the proper steps to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

We hope that you'll come back and give us another try. We'd truly appreciate the opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    94
    36
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Signature Ribs not worth it”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our young Hotel Desk Clerk raved about this place so, we went. My friend and I had their signature Baby Back ribs and, although they were large and, as promised "Fall off the Bone" the taste and quality was just not anywhere near as good as at any typical BBQ place. Plus, they were so dry and tasteless that I had to ask for extra sauce. My one friend had a Steak Salad and loved it. My wife was happy with her meal and they did have some cool extras like Sweet Potato Fries, Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Garlic Mashed but...My mashed sweet had a huge glob of cinnamon butter that was just way too much.
Although I personally am a UFC fan, the women found it difficult eating with MMA guys pounding each other bloody on their HUGE 10' - 12' TV screen. There were 3 BIG screens in addition to numerous other TVs with different sporting events going constantly. Full liquor bar and, I'm sure their Burgers and Wings were great but, not my idea of a great place for a couple's dinner on a Saturday night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterHumour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Copperhead Grille - Allentown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
MisterHumour, we want to thank you for leaving your feedback from your most recent visit to our restaurant. We are unhappy to see that you were disappointed with your experience.

We're sorry to hear that you felt the quality of our ribs weren't as advertised. Please know that we have passed along your comments to both our management team and culinary team.

We're glad to hear that the other members of your party enjoyed their meals. We can also see you mentioned how you some people in your group felt it hard to eat with the UFC matches on the TV's. Unfortunately, Saturday nights are very busy with people coming in to watch UFC in our restaurant. Other than this, we typically have sports like baseball, football, basketball, golf, and occasionally soccer matches playing around the restaurant.

We hope that despite your experience, if you're ever in the area again, you’ll give us another try.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm a local and this is one of my favorite places to eat. Even when it's crowded, the food comes out quickly. The salads and burgers are equally yummy, and the cheese sticks are out of this world!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PARunner30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Copperhead Grille - Allentown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
PARunner30, we want to thank you for leaving an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage. We couldn't be happier hearing that our restaurant is one of your favorite places to eat.

We pride ourselves in both our fresh, quality food, and also our amazing waitstaff. They always do a phenomenal job maintaining high standards of service, especially when we're extremely busy! We noticed that you made mention of some of the dishes that you love. You'd definitely be in the majority when it comes to our mozzarella sticks! Our homemade recipe makes them truly irresistible!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to Copperhead, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is more expensive than my usual but it was excellent. The resturant had plenty of TV's to watch with sports on them. Overall it was great food with great service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kafrederick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Copperhead Grille - Allentown, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Kafrederick1, we want to thank you for choosing to dine with us and we'd also like to thank you for writing a fabulous review. We're extremely glad to hear that you were thoroughly satisfied with both the food and service you received at Copperhead.

We pride ourselves in our high quality, fresh food. Our cuisine is homemade with original ingredients and we couldn't be more proud of that! From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how great our staff was. We're very fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. We'll be sure to let them know of your kind words.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to Copperhead, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great sports bar with great food too”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in on our shopping trip in mid afternoon. Not too busy, seated right away. Three huge tvs in front of us. Stanley Cup finals, US Open and another channel. Individual speakers at each table. Great background music that was not overpowering.
Food was great, not too much sauce that would overpower the burger. Great selection of beer. Service very good. Super atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiggerDan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Copperhead Grille - Allentown, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
DiggerDan14, we want to thank you for leaving a fantastic review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with with us. From reading over your review, we can see that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience. It makes us truly happy to hear that you loved everything.

One of the many compliments we receive is on our 3 huge TV's and stadium-like seating. If you come to watch a sporting event at our restaurant, we can guarantee that you won't miss a second of the action! Another huge plus is that although we're a great place for sports enthusiasts, we’re also a great family restaurant.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you and your wife back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copperhead Grille - Allentown also viewed

 

Been to Copperhead Grille - Allentown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing