We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beer selection, great nachos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chicken Lounge

Chicken Lounge
Ranked #49 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nazareth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice beer selection, great nachos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place is a little hole in the wall that has been recently remade on the inside. There is no more smoking, and that has helped the place. They have a pretty nice beer selection for a bar that is not known as a beer bar. But to me the nachos are the highlight of the place. Not sure if it's because they're made on Doritos, or if they have a good mix of the standard toppings. Everytime we stop in after work though, an order of these nachos is a must. Would definately recommend as a place to stop by after a hard shift just to chill with your friends.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrewmeisterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have been eating here for over 40 years and can honestly say that I haven't gotten a bad meal. As most restaurants are hit and miss, you should find this one to be a hit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arrowhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An Average Casual Restaurant but We Keep Coming Back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My family and I have been regulars at the Chicken Lounge for many years. It's become a go-to place because it's close to home, it's inexpensive, the food is decent, it's casual, and it's a good place to watch a ball game. I would estimate that most of their patrons are regulars as well.

When you walk into the restaurant, the sign tells you to seat yourself. It's not a big establishment and does get crowded at times, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. They have more of a "bar" style seating around their food preparation area at the center, as well as tables and half-booths around the outside of the bar.

The Chicken Lounge is best known for their nachos. They're made with seasoned cheese chips (like Doritos) and piled high with melted cheese and all of the usual toppings. The servers are happy to take special orders if you don't like all of the accompaniments. The restaurant has changed its menu a few times in recent years. My current favorite is the smothered chicken wrap (chicken, cheese, mushrooms, & onions). They have a good selection of sandwiches, wraps, burgers, entrees, and salads. No french fries here, but you won't miss them if you order their potato pancakes. So good, with or without apple butter and sour cream!

Don't come expecting a gourmet experience. But if you're in the market for decent, casual food at reasonable prices, you should definitely stop in. They also serve food late (I believe until 1:30 am), which sets them apart from a lot of local places. We're there almost weekly, so I know we'll be back soon!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IceGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

tucked into an a typical shopping center is a very a typical place to eat. They have healthy fresh and simple food that is always enjoyable. We also do take out from here alot when we want a good grilled steak but don't want to cook.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVfoodieAllentown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place to relax with a beer and eat...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Great place to relax with a beer and eat nachos...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fosterc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Chicken Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing