We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Wings”

P.J. Whelihan’s Pub + Restaurant [Allentown]
Ranked #100 of 462 Restaurants in Allentown
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Opened over two decades ago, PJ's Allentown was the first in our friendly neighborhood Pub family. Pull up a stool at the bar, order a draft beer, a basket of our famous buffalo wings and experience why we continue to win "Best of the Lehigh Valley" awards. We offer a well rounded lunch and dinner menu including limited time seasonal items, rotating cocktail specials and over 18 beers on tap. Check out what's on the menu today.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love the Wings”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We frequent PJ's about once a month to get our wing fix, we love the sweet & sweaty sauce, but really any of their sauces are great too. If you like wings make the stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clo4yanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try try again”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Keep going and spacing my trips about 6 months apart. Unfortunately I am consistently disappointed. My 8 yr old daughter and I stopped for dinner . She had sliders (btw no kids menu), I had wings and the wicked cheesesteak. All food was just ok at best. For a limited menu food should be done right. Our waitress seem very disinterested in any type of service . Food , two miller lite drafts and one soda. 40 bucks.... Not worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavorsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cute, noisy, food ok”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you're looking for a quiet, romantic spot, this is NOT it! - Great place for chatting (loudly) with friends... looking around at all the décor, having drinks and light food.

My Cha Cha Salad was fresh, but very limited in its non-lettuce toppings. Not worth the $10 price tag.

Drinks were cold and tasty.

Wait staff was excellent.

Lots of parking & easy in/out of the lot.

I'll give it another try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaDawn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A+ in Service and Food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great time.... Food and service was great, will be back again for the same. Fast menu was accurate with the description of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Noisy, crowded, long wait when we could see empty tables.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We called ahead for the "20" minute wait. It was more like an hour. There were empty tables visible. No place to sit. Noisy. The food wasn't bad, just very ordinary. If you like the noisy, sports bar scene, then you will like this place. We were celebrating 2 birthdays of the 6 of us who were at the table. The hostess and the wait person were told that. Considering the amount of money we spent on drinks, appetizers and food, a cupcake with a candle in it would have been nice. We won't go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. Whelihan’s Pub + Restaurant [Allentown] also viewed

 
Allentown, PA
Lehighton, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to P.J. Whelihan’s Pub + Restaurant [Allentown]? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing