We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I'd expect from a Vietnamese restaurant.”

Pho 1 Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #105 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tampa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Everything I'd expect from a Vietnamese restaurant.”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It is 1/17/12 and I'm elbow deep in pho soup as I type this. At what I'd expect to be a busy lunch hour, I'm sitting among five other tables of patrons. The service is great, food is great and the next time I'm in Allentown I will eat here again.
It's across the street from the state employment agency so visit an get a job, then stop in for some good food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellreadreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving...their food is excellent”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have eaten here several times. The appearance, inside and outside, is a little dated (say, about 1975) and run-down, and I have never been particularly impressed with the service every time I've been there, it's been a little slow and inattentive).

But even with that said, Pho 1's food has always been excellent and keeps me coming back. There are great meat and vegetarian options, and I absolutely love their fresh summer rolls with delicious peanut sauce!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

i think we had lunch for 20 bucks. their pho is amazing. this would be a good place to feed a big group of folks.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aureliusjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic gem in the Lehigh Valley”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I can't believe I have lived here for three years and only discovered this restaurant this week. It is very authentic Vietnamese with very fresh ingredients. The pho is delicious and the prices are very low. In addition it is a byob with no corkage fee. Very attentive and helpful service. It is a hole in the wall if that turns you off. We've been twice this week and will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

When I first saw the name of the place I was definitley skeptical. I have never been to a good restaurant with the number 1 in it in the past and by the look of the restaurant I wasn't expecting that to change. However as soon as I walked in I noticed that the place was full of Asians and the decor was lacking (great signs that the food is authentic). I don't recommend the broken rice dishes or the eggrolls but the soup pho was authentic and delicious. The portions are a good size and definitely a great value. Service was quite good but the floor was very greasy and I felt my chair had wheels on it by the way it slid around on the floor. Furthermore the utensils weren't very hygenic.

All in all I would say that the food is authentic and a great value but don't expect good decor or cleanliness.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lehighsuitecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho 1 Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pho 1 Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing