We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Service!”

Chess N Checkers Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #224 of 461 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gracious Service!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We came to this area on our way up north to work hurricane Sandy. Many places are w/o power. This one just re-opened today and the staff is bending over backwards running around to please their customers. They lost a lot of food, but are gracious and know how to treat their customers. Good food!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italianice57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    30
    22
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Recently moved to the area and have been very intrigued to try this restaurant. It is beautiful inside, very unique and warming. We ordered the potsticker ap.. they were out of them. We ordered the french dip... they were out of the meat for it. 0 for 2. We ended up getting pretty lacksadasical and dry subs (meatball and chicken parm). I will say the waffle fries were pretty good. The waitstaff was excellent as well, very nice and accomodating (other than not refilling our waters at all). I really wish the food was better because the atmosphere was excellent but the food not so much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank speechie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The family and I go here for dinner when we can't decide where else to go, which is fairly often. They have a pretty complete menu from burgers to steaks, and the food is actually pretty good. Service is good to very good. The decor and restaurant theme never fails to amuse and confuse me. The second floor looks very bright and modern with lots of big windows. But it seems like it's decorated with every available item from Toscano's gothic catalog... just a curious mix. The first floor has a totally different vibe, which we find noisy and uninspired.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peppegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good but just like the rest”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I know calling a place average is sometimes taken to mean it was bad and that's not at all the case here. Food, service, prices, and ambiance were all good but they were not much different from all the other Applebees/Fridays/Damons of the world. I'll definitely pick a place like this over a national chain but it's hard to get excited about it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful food, nice atmosphere, close to airport”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

for theose traveling coming into Allentown via LVInternational Airport it is right up the road Food is good the atmosphere is very nice best crab cakes!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ibnanc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chess N Checkers Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chess N Checkers Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing