We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Henty's Salt of the Sea is Delicious”

Henry's Salt of the Sea
Ranked #2 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Allentown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Henty's Salt of the Sea is Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love love love Henry's. Where else can you go for a Lobster Francese? Salad bar is terrific.
You had better wear your loose pants. I am not kidding. The restaurant itself is very small so you need to have a reservation. They do not open until 4:30pm. The service and food are both excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    60
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost perfect, save for the waiting staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hands down the best seafood in Allentown, and possibly the Lehigh Valley. Its also one of the few places locally that I can order my favorite dish: escargot. exactly the way I like it: in garlic butter. And its not just the seafood either. I've ordered numerous entrees, ranging from steak to chicken, and it was all top-notch. Heck even their mozzarella sticks are handmade and are delicious. Did I mentioned everything is cooked a few feet away from you in the open kitchen?

And speaking of the mozzarella sticks, which are about $6 for 4 of them, it can be derived from this that Henry's is a high-priced restaurant, but with a low-key atmosphere. So its a definite go if you and/or your guest simply enjoy top-notch restaurant entrees, and don't want to deal with the pretentiousness of an fancy restaurant.

My only issue with the place? The waiting staff can be extremely grumpy and judgmental, particularly of younger generations. Their demographic is generally 50+, and I'm 21, and every time I've been there, when I'm first approached by the waiting staff they come off as extremely grumpy, like they're upset that they have to wait on a young kid whose going to order all the cheap stuff and give them a tip that's not worth their time, and they would only check up on us when we're deciding what to order half as often as they would for the other tables. Don't believe me? The moment I order an expensive appetizer, a bottle of wine, and one of their upper-priced entrees, the expression on their faces, their mood, and their attention to my table changes so dramatically its quite obvious they were quick to judge me and my expenditure by my young appearance alone. The Maître de, who you call to make reservations, also sounds very grumpy when you make reservations during prime hours, and doesn't thank you for your reservation either.

All in all, as long as you're not bothered by the occasional grumpy/rude waiter/waitress, I can't recommend this place enough, mainly for date-nights or for special occasions among a few people, because of the high prices. The food. Its fresh, cooked a few feet away from you, and perfect no matter what you order. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I went with two friends and we all loved our meals...and the salads. Pasta with seafood dishes...yummy. Will go back again soon. Great good, clean restaurant, good prices and friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SGTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No franchise here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Masterfully prepared meals that are always consistent. Eating at the bar is special because of the great service and watching the attached kitchen prepare the meals. You can't beat the early bird specials. Been here many times and will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Reservations are a must. The food and service are good, sometimes very good. The restaurant has been around for at least 30 years, and is very popular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teamfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Salt of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Salt of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing