We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class all the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry's Salt of the Sea

Henry's Salt of the Sea
Ranked #2 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First class all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a great place to eat. They have a wonderful selection of sea food. It is a small place that have been around for 30 years in the same location. Parking is ahead to find. I suggest you arrive at 4:30 PM when they open. Reservations are a must. They have a variety of Oysters and Lobster. I recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    59
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kutztown
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food-cooked right in front of counter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very good food- you can watch them cook everything- some selections are a little pricey- some are less but just as good. chicken dishes are great. Very small place- no parking unless something available on street-we parked a couple blocks away- Reservations recommended especially for weekends. Drinks available too

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tieback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great local resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

One of the best local restaurants in the area. It's been there for years and seems to always be busy. The food is always excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
368 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Not sure why it is so well respected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I went for the first time after hearing about this place for many years. I have to say I was disappointed. It is a nice neighborhood restaurant but in no way is it quality seafood. The restaurant itself is small and crowded. the salad bar remind you of something from a chain restaurant in the 80's. There are some greens and staples like chickpeas and olives but nothing special. The bean soup was watery and had very little substance to it. The crab cakes have a lot of filler and little or no lump crab and very little flavor. You should not have to add tartar sauceto add flavor to a crab cake. The vegetable medley had some taste to it though I am not sure about adding raisins to squash. I went here rather than going to a chain restaurant and I would not say it was any better. maybe if you were comparing this 2 Red Lobster or another chainyou would find it to be a good choice. However having been spoiled by seafood at the Maryland Shore and in Florida it does not measure up. If you were looking for a neighborhood meal this place would be a good choice but if you were looking for quality seafood I think you may be disappointed. I was expecting more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,881 reviews
633 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned place does everything well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a wonderful old fashioned restaurant with dark wood throughout including the bar--it makes you feel like you are transported back in time. They have a very good early dinner special weekdays before 6 PM--full course meal for only $18.95. First a choice of soup or tomato juice--we had tasty cauliflower soup with crabmeat. The salad bar has a wide variety of very fresh items, even including apple butter and cottage cheese. There are about 10 entree selections, all seafood or veal. Our platters were talapia stuffed with crabmeat and a crabcake. Very good baked potato and excellent mixed vegetables. Dessert was a choice of different flavors of ice cream. Coffee or tea are also included. A terrific dinner deal in this excellent restaurant with very attentive service. One of the best places in Allentown.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Salt of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Salt of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing