We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start with the Bramble cocktail...”

The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 461 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A welcoming approach to old-world hospitality with an urban vibe and new- world flair. The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar will take you back to the days of the public house, where both locals and visitors gathered for a heartwarming, good meal, great conversation and flowing libations. The Hamilton Kitchen will showcase seasonal American cuisine, featuring takes on regional classics from around the country and the family dinner table.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Start with the Bramble cocktail...”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were in town for business and randomly decided to stop here for dinner. It is a beautiful space and they start you off with rolls cooked in duck fat, not the lightest meal, but absolutely delicious. One of my co-workers ordered the chicken pot pie. She got a very large, delicious portion that was covered in a flaky crust. We tried a sampling of appetizers, entrees and salads and everyone in our group was extremely happy with their meals and with the service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenafalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Karenafalena, thank you for writing a fantastic review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us. We couldn't be happier to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your time at our restaurant.

From reading your review, we're pleased to hear everyone was satisfied with their food and service. Our rolls are a great way to start a meal, and we're glad you agree! We'll definitely make sure to let our culinary team know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    82
    39
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eclectic, atmosphere, great food, and outdoor entertainment”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was in Allentown for the first time in my life on Thursday Aug 14th for business. Stayed overnight, and went to the Hamilton for supper on the recommendation of the hotel I was staying at. They were not wrong. The food was spectacular. (Tuna Tartar followed by Duck Entree). The atmosphere inside the restaurant was eclectic and friendly. After dinner there was a duo playing outside in the open air bar area. A great place to hang out before, during and after supper!!! If I had ANY criticism at all (which really isn't a criticism just an observation.. when they sit two seat at a 4 person rectangular table they need to talk to you at your side of the table.. all the staff talked to us from the same position at the other end of the table and we couldn't hear until we asked them to come around to where we were speaking, and secondly the duo outside were really good, but when they asked for requests and I asked for "Allentown" by Billy Joel... the answer was nope, don't know that one. Kind of a bit like going to Galveston and no one knowing who Glenn Campbell was. I know that's petty..... and NONE of that should put a traveler or diner from eating here... the food was spectacular... but maybe thing the restaurant might want to know... the devil is in the detail... and you have a terrific brand!.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dobro45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
dobro45, thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us. We couldn't be happier to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your time at our restaurant.

Our Tuna Tartare and Duck Breast are excellent choices and it's great to know you loved your food. From reading your review, we saw how much enjoyed our atmosphere. Our live music acts truly add to our fabulous ambiance! We've gone ahead and passed along your comments to our team.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Ah-MAYZ-ing!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My experience Saturday night was spectacular. We were early for our reservation and sat at the outside bar where we ordered a beer while we waited for the rest of our party. The bartenders were professional, quick and very nice, while our beers were very tasty, and not what you normally have on tap. It was refreshing to see a bustling crowd seated outside enjoying food and drinks right in downtown Allentown. The view of the statue in the circle made sitting outside visually enjoyable. Once our party arrived, we moved inside where I was captivated by the beautiful atmosphere INSIDE. The curved brick ceilings, the glass shelf/dividers, the beautiful floors, the wood accents made it very comfortable and classy. Our server, Tom was extremely knowledgeable and made it a point to learn our names so our meal seemed special, just for us. Everything we ate tasted wonderful. We shared our food, so we could all taste it all. They were very courteous about our food concerns (3 of us are vegetarian). The flatbreads were amazing, especially the mushroom one, and I don't even like mushrooms!! I will definitely be back, and I will order my new favorite drink again...the Hidden Bell.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeenalinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
deeenalinn, thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us. We couldn't be happier to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your time at our restaurant.

From reading your review, we're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our atmosphere. We are so lucky to be located in the heart of downtown Allentown! With so much to see outside, we worked hard to make sure our interior was just as fantastic. It's great to hear you had a wonderful meal and service, and we've gone ahead and passed along your comments to Tom and the rest of our team.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - high for Allentown”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Tried it for the first time the other day. Loved the decor and having seating outside. However as the sun moved during the noontime everyone was in the sun. They don't have any umbrellas. Price is on the high side for lunch in Allentown. Had the poor boy and it was blande. Others had the asparagus sandwich and the ham and cheese. Looked yummy and they said they were. Had a great deal of people which must justify the cost. Two at the front desk, one server, another for water. Seems like more than is necessary especially for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmp907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Going for a second chance”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I liked this place but wasn't impressed with the meal. I like how the place looked, the staff were friendly and very helpful and accommodating. They even gave us an item off of their lunch menu when they were only serving brunch. Although all were attentive, the service was slow. May not have been too bad but all at the table noticed how long it was taking to bring out the drinks and food. I didn't care for my meal but others enjoyed what they had. Heading back for happy hour so I'm going to give it a second chance. Kind of looking forward to it. Oh and of course it's located in Center City Allentown so you'll have to find a place to park. They do have valet but I park on the street. Don't take my secret spot lol. Go and try it out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Allentown, PA
 

Been to The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing