We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Louie's Restaurant

Louie's Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Got together with family in the area at Louie's because we had been there before and loved the food. This time we happened on the end of a lunch buffet that was reasonably priced, but not impressive food wise. Some things had been warming for a long time and were getting dried out. Even though the prices are a little high, I would order from the menu next time. It seemed clean, and the service was just ok. Late lunch and not many workers on duty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, good value and entertainment. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant surprise when we happened upon Louie's. Had a table side magician, good food, great service and good value. Recommended for families.

Helpful?
Thank ldtbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dine Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Entree was bland. Service was sub-diner in quality: "How yews doing". Decor was dated and the place wasn't very clean (red flag). Would never go there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Brianp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been going to Louie's for a long time and decided to make a visit after a long absence. Not sure what happened, but what used to be a very solid red gravy place has morphed into an overpriced place with a touristy feel. It's not bad, but certainly not a value.

Pros
Very friendly waitstaff. Despite forgetting things and mixing up a bit, waitstaff was exceptional.

Food quality is solid. Traditional red gravy fare done well. Portion size is right.

Cons
WAY over priced. Family of four including pre-teen: $86. Four entrees, 2 apps, 1 iced tea, 1 soda, 2 club sodas. Particularly offensive was rigatoni with garlic and oll menu price of $14.99. I asked to add a bit of chicken and price jumped $7. Really? $7 for probably 4 oz of chicken?

I will continue to buy your sauces in the grocery store (which you can buy there along with t-shirts on other tourist stuff), but I cannot come back, sorry

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Mangia Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Louie's Restaurant is now located on 39th Street. That is the one we are reviewing. The feel of Louie's is a laidback atmosphere...like being invited to dine with a 'real Italian relative'. Portions are ample and delicious. The staff is very friendly and treats you like family. They have many different specials and at times, entertainment is available.
The great thing is that Louie personally comes and checks things out...This Mother's Day, Louie's own mama will be dining there and eating food made from her own recipes. She is in her 90's. This restaurant is enjoyable and fun with great Italian food and served by knowledgeable and helpful staff members. MANGIA!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WELUV2TRAVEL2GETHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Louie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing