We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Consistently Excellent restaurant”

Bay Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 462 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Consistently Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I eat at The Bay Leaf fairly often, and we are never disappointed. The food, made with fresh delicious ingredients expertly prepared, often with a Thai accent, is delicious and beautifully presented. The ambience is lovely and the service prompt and professional. Sometimes the music is not to our taste, but it is kept at a low volume that does not discourage conversation. The menu is quite extensive and there are always daily specials. The cream of mushroom soup is out of this world, worth every calorie, and we also love the Tequila salmon appetizer. But, as I said, EVERYTHING here is yummy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetofAllentopwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect New Years meal”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food was excellent, as always; wide selection even with the special limited holiday menu, quality is airways consistent and service superb.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been going there for more than 15 years and have never been disappointed with the food or service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kagAllentown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luncheon at Bay Leaf”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I can remember this place being open in 1983 when I worked in downtown Allentown, and even then it wasn't new. So if my memory is correct and it has been open nearly 40 years, that A) Tells you something good and B) Embarrasses me that this was my first visit! The interior is as funky as I remember the place's reputation having been, but warm and welcoming. The food was really good- I had a tremendous salad, cold and including every vegetable known to man, and then angel hair with scallops. My test of a restaurant's mettle is if they can pull off a perfect Manhattan without asking, and they did. The waiter seemed alone, with at least 8 tables and the manager could have helped him more than just sitting in the back with paperwork, but he did an admirable if rushed job! Good spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner, aesthetic serving,great food.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a wonderful dinner. Healthy food served aesthetic, fresh and healthy. Good fusion kitchen. My best meal on this trip to the US. Great wine selection, too.
Do order some of the appetizer. Orange Salat with shrimps, and tuna with wasabi perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birgit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Leaf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bay Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing