We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“35 years and still perfection”

Bay Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French, American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“35 years and still perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Awesome food, ambience, and service. It's a triple threat in a location where you'd least expect it. Amazing place that used to be a block from our home. We've moved twice but still go back for special occasions and always-grand experiences. A wonder!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6211GardenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    36
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always delightful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were regular diners at the Bay Leaf for years before we moved, and have now rediscovered it. It's as great as always. The food is superb, the waitstaff are real pros, and the ambience is cosmopolitan and intimate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Can_do_girl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, but allow plenty of time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have eaten lunch here on several occasions. The food and service are wonderful, but don't expect to be in and out quickly, especially if you're with a group.

Helpful?
Thank Ediek0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been going to the Bay Leaf since it opened- I've never stopped going. I've traveled a lot and I enjoy fine dining- this restaurant is one of my favorites. The Bay Leaf is one of the Valley's best. This is considered a local fact. My friends from Manhattan insist on the Bay Leaf when they visit. Actually, most my friends feel this way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmgordonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Allentown Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Allentown on business, we found this place by accident; looked at the menu in line and decided to go. Menu was exactly as on line -- quite varied and very eclectic. I had a number of different seafood choices, before deciding on the swordfish in Thai chili sauce. Came with fresh steamed veggies and a side of brown rice. Excellent. There was barely a morsel left, and the portion was substantial. My wife had mushroom soup and a salad with a wonderful peanut dressing. Both were excellent. Service attentive but not in your face. Locale seems a bit dodgy, but it was fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank IlProfessore21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Leaf Restaurant also viewed

Allentown, PA
Allentown, PA
 

Been to Bay Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing