We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. I love this place”
Review of Robata of Tokyo - CLOSED

Robata of Tokyo
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Robata of Tokyo is Allentown's original, authentic and premiere Japanese restaurant for the last 25 years. Robata has uniquely combined traditional Japanese elements with Western cuisine to create a perfect fusion of culture for your dining pleasure. Enjoy our traditional Sushi, Sashimi, Tempura, Sukiyaki, Teriyaki, Udon and Soba. Bring your family and friends to Hibachi table. Our Hibachi chefs will entertain you with a good show and food.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wow. I love this place”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is one of those hidden gems in the Lehigh Valley. Many people would tend to the louder and more obvious hibachi/sushi places in the Lehigh Valley, but this little restaurant is tucked out of the way and very unassuming. Still, I solidly believe they have the best sushi in the Lehigh Valley. Their hibachi is good, but comparable to other hibachi places. The sushi is perfection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Corissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and food”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

If anyone want to experience real Japanese style of service courtesy, start from here. Not to mention delicious Unagi on rice and rolls and sashimi...

Helpful?
1 Thank Yuanyuan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sukiyaki!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Delicious sukiyaki dinner. Very tasty! Good value, included soup and salad. Will definitely return for more great Japanese food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judyineaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Domo Arigato Robata of Tokyo”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you want an excellent and authentic Hibachi/Sushi meal I highly recommend Robata of Tokyo. My wife ordered the Hibachi meal and we were impressed at the aplomb of table side Chef. He entertained as he prepared the meal and everything was done to perfection. I opted for an eclectic Sushi and Sashimi sampling from the menu. From the Toro to the Halloween Roll (w/ Capelin Roe AND Black Caviar), Uni to the Wasabi Flying Fish Roe, and on to the Red Snapper Sushi; everything was prepared with the utmost respect for the food. Pleasing to the eye as well as the palate. This is the best Sushi Bar between New York and Philly. Don't plan on being in and out in less than an hour, unless you're just doing the Sushi Bar. The Hibachi is best experienced in groups but they'll accommodate a Couple; although you may be asked to share the large table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeFish62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything was fresh”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

my wife and I went out Saturday night. We got right in and seated ordered about 10 things on the menu and all were good. Can not wait to go back and experience delicious food like that. lots of thought go into what they make

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robata of Tokyo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing