We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“park that has everything”

Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in Allentown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom features two great parks for the price of one. There are more than 100 rides, shows and attractions to enjoy, including eight roller coasters, the largest collection of kids' rides in Planet Snoopy and one of the country's best-ranked water parks. Dorney Park is one of the most visited amusement parks in the United States and is the perfect combination of thrills and family fun.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“park that has everything”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

i remember going to dorney with my very young children years ago and going as a youngster myself long before that. the new and modern dorney still offers a lot of the same things i saw years ago along with the new and modern up to date rides of today. a lot more coasters than ever before and you get the best of both worlds by riding the old coasters and also the faster, taller and more up to date versions of today. the new section for the very young kids is fabulous. the park is very clean and attractive. i dont do the water parks anymore, but you do have one available also, what a convienence to have 2 parks at one price! the only drawback i can find is what is the same in all amusement parks, and that is the food prices. way out of line. when you are bringing your entire family there for the day, it is a bit much on the budget to feed all of them. other than that, its a great park , a lot of fun and hopefully will be around for years to come.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank roger_f_1152842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    414
    201
    101
    108
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Park Around”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The price is very reasonable, the staff is excellent, lines more quick, food is great! There park is very beautiful and well kept. The guests all seemed to have a great time. I have a 2 and a half hour drive and attempt to make the visit 2 to 3 times out the year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Park!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always love visiting Dorney Park when I'm in the area. It has a decent amount of roller coaster and rides. I've never had to wait terribly long in lines everytime I've been there. Maybe I've just lucked out. Overall, I would definitely go back again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ju1i3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Bus loads of kids, at half price.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Dorney Park, from the 1950's to early 1970's was a family oriented amusement park that was free to get in, and all you had to pay for was the rides. It was a wonderland for most of us, and it was something special.

Times have changed. I usually go there, after 5 p.m., when it is free night at the Allentown Fair. Less than half packed, and pay less for after 5 p.m. entry.

At Halloween time, they go all out to make your stay a thriller, something you will talk about for a long time. There are lots of rides, good food, and fun for all. Make sure you take along your camera, but make sure that you strap it on..

Wild Water Kingdom has been around for a long time, and could use a change.
In 1998, I wrote a letter to Cedar Point, describing a completely enclosed water park that would allow the facility to be opened year round. I even suggested having it ready for the 2000 New Years Party. Warm sand, warm water, hot air going to the ceiling, and coming back to the lower section in clear duct work. The hot air would keep the snow and ice from forming on the glass panel roof.
For the party, a reggae band for atmosphere, or possibly caribbean sound with some kettle drums.

In the amusement park, there are some really great rides, and the place is well taken care of.

Always call them if you plan on going to the park on the weekend. Sometimes the park is rented out to large companies, and the average person will not get in.

The continuing problem with Dorney Park are the bus loads of kids that are usually out of state, that butt in line from about 3:30 to 6 p.m. They know that the buses are leaving at a certain time, so they push other people around to get up front. Even if they are caught and thrown out, they just get on their bus and wait for the rest to show up. Why so many bus loads? They get a half price rate.

By all means, go to Dorney Park and have lots of fun. It is colorful, exciting, challenging, and breathtaking. Also, on certain times of the year, they put on a really good fireworks show.
Just outside of Dorney Park are about 5 good food joints. Check google map for your options.

Try staying until early night time. The ride lights can be seen for about a mile, and make a nice closing for a perfect day.


I hope this was helpful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryandBarb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the 2nd time going her ein October wth my daughter. I like to g this time of year because it is not thacrowded and the lines ar not long and we ahave a wonderful time. This year I have to say my favorite part was the Dinosaurs. It was cool and she learned while walking thru the trail.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meighan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom also viewed

 

Been to Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing