We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local pizza place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sal's Pizza

Sal's Pizza
Ranked #215 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Description: Sal was born in Sicily, Italy and moved to Brooklyn, NY where learned the art of pizza making. In 1982 he moved to the Lehigh Valley and opened up Sal's Pizza. All our food is made to order to your liking. We offer dine-in in our authentically decorated family style pizzeria, or if you're on the go order take-out! Deliveries can be arranged for large corporate and catering orders. In addition to our delicious pizza we also serve hoagies, steak sandwiches, wings, and various Italian dinners. We have a wide selection of import, domestic, and microbrewed beers. To see our entire menu click on the menu tab under our profile picture.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local pizza place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Sal's is a great place to order out from or stop in and grab a slice. They always have a good variety of pizza to pick from when wanting a quick slice and the pizza quality is excellent. Sal is such a joy to be around. He always has a warm smile and usually a funny story to share.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriquetraHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentonw PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Prize of a Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sal's Pizza is the place to go for change in taste and satisfaction. First- meet Sal, who should greet with a smile, ask for what you want-added spices, toppings, etc. he will serve you to your taste. The range of items to taste, a host of beers to drink, and the engaging staff make Sal's interesting and worth the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sal's Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pizza is very good but the customer service has a lot to be desired. The owner isn't all that friendly like his competition up the road at Slice of Italy. I find the owner's customer service is not equal to everyone. I only go there occasionally because 2 slices and a soda are expensive and he has no daily specials.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Sal's Pizza, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
abirish, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your most recent visit to Sal's. We are happy to hear that you love our pizza!

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that you felt that the customer service provided at our location left a lot to be desired. We hope you realize how much this deeply upsets us to hear. We also saw your comments about our lack of daily specials. We have shared your feelings about our lack of daily specials with our team. Perhaps one day in the future we can run them.

Please know that we plan to work extra hard to make sure our restaurant serves not only the most fresh and delicious pizza, but that our customer service is top notch too.

We hope that you'll give us another try.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another Incredible Find in PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

By chance, my husband and I found Sal's on our way to the casino, always noting a crowd outside of the restaurant waiting to be seated. Sal's is owned and operated by Sal and his lovely wife who oversee the restaurant to insure incredible service and the freshest of entrees. The restaurant is a small BYOB located on the immediate outskirts of Lehigh Univ. The nightly specials are varied and always freshly made and well prepared. So, whether you are going there for a "sit down" dinner or, a quick lunch, make sure that you indulge in the Garlic Knots, the incredibly delicious Garlic Knots and freshly made meatballs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEESB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice little place. Great family. you can find the owner there pretty regularly probably why it is always good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

nice variety of pizza great cheesesteaks and the best onion rings on the planet. order at the counter waitress is very chatty and disruptive to the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Sal's Pizza, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Jl0ng, we want to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our restaurant. We're delighted to hear that you're a fan of our delectable onion rings, and also our pizza. We use only the best and most fresh ingredients in all our food which is why everything tastes so good!

We'll be sure to pass along the feedback you gave to our team. We're always looking to enhance the guest experience and continually improve ourselves. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to make a future visit to our pizza shop even better, please let us know.

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Pizza also viewed

 
Allentown, PA
 

Been to Sal's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing