We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sal's Pizza” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sal's Pizza

Sal's Pizza
Ranked #217 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Description: Sal was born in Sicily, Italy and moved to Brooklyn, NY where learned the art of pizza making. In 1982 he moved to the Lehigh Valley and opened up Sal's Pizza. All our food is made to order to your liking. We offer dine-in in our authentically decorated family style pizzeria, or if you're on the go order take-out! Deliveries can be arranged for large corporate and catering orders. In addition to our delicious pizza we also serve hoagies, steak sandwiches, wings, and various Italian dinners. We have a wide selection of import, domestic, and microbrewed beers. To see our entire menu click on the menu tab under our profile picture.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sal's Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pizza is very good but the customer service has a lot to be desired. The owner isn't all that friendly like his competition up the road at Slice of Italy. I find the owner's customer service is not equal to everyone. I only go there occasionally because 2 slices and a soda are expensive and he has no daily specials.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Sal's Pizza, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
abirish, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your most recent visit to Sal's. We are happy to hear that you love our pizza!

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that you felt that the customer service provided at our location left a lot to be desired. We hope you realize how much this deeply upsets us to hear. We also saw your comments about our lack of daily specials. We have shared your feelings about our lack of daily specials with our team. Perhaps one day in the future we can run them.

Please know that we plan to work extra hard to make sure our restaurant serves not only the most fresh and delicious pizza, but that our customer service is top notch too.

We hope that you'll give us another try.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another Incredible Find in PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

By chance, my husband and I found Sal's on our way to the casino, always noting a crowd outside of the restaurant waiting to be seated. Sal's is owned and operated by Sal and his lovely wife who oversee the restaurant to insure incredible service and the freshest of entrees. The restaurant is a small BYOB located on the immediate outskirts of Lehigh Univ. The nightly specials are varied and always freshly made and well prepared. So, whether you are going there for a "sit down" dinner or, a quick lunch, make sure that you indulge in the Garlic Knots, the incredibly delicious Garlic Knots and freshly made meatballs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEESB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice little place. Great family. you can find the owner there pretty regularly probably why it is always good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

nice variety of pizza great cheesesteaks and the best onion rings on the planet. order at the counter waitress is very chatty and disruptive to the atmosphere.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Sal's Pizza, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Jl0ng, we want to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our restaurant. We're delighted to hear that you're a fan of our delectable onion rings, and also our pizza. We use only the best and most fresh ingredients in all our food which is why everything tastes so good!

We'll be sure to pass along the feedback you gave to our team. We're always looking to enhance the guest experience and continually improve ourselves. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to make a future visit to our pizza shop even better, please let us know.

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Chain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was so excited to see Sal's Pizza in PA while on vacation for a few days. I usually order here for lunch in NYC and they never disappoint. Was definitely interested to see how the Pizza would compare and they did not disappoint... it's very hard to find a Pizza chain that uses fresh ingredients and this place is one to try whoever you are

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Sal's Pizza, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Pierre B, we first would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome review, and we'd also like to thank you for your patronage.

We're extremely happy to hear that you were very satisfied with our pizza! We only believe in using the freshest ingredients, and because of this, our pizza is quite delicious.

We want to thank you for taking the time to share with us, and the TripAdvisor community on your experience at our restaurant. It really means a lot to us when previous guests do this, and we just want you to know how much we truly appreciate it!

Thank you, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again when you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best pizza around hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

The pizza there is great, thats all i order there though the pizza is the best

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myarial1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Sal's Pizza, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Myarial1007, we first would like to thank you for leaving us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for your patronage! We're certainly happy to hear that you love our pizza! We only use the freshest ingredients to make our pizza, and it really reflects in the taste and quality. Hearing back from a happy guest couldn't make us any more thrilled, because it lets us know we are doing things right! We look forward to seeing you back soon, don't be a stranger! Thank you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing