We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reserved three nights, only stayed for one...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Reserved three nights, only stayed for one...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Typically you would think that the Hilton Garden Inn would be a staple of consistency... Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't fall into that category.

Instead of staying at my normal hotel in the Allentown-Bethlehem area, Homewood Suites, I thought I'd try this place and expand my options of places to stay...

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to stay more than one night... Why?

For one thing there is a distribution center right behind the hotel -- which means noise and lots of it.... From semi's pulling in or leaving to the forklifts going back and forth with the beeping occurring every time it went backwards.

I had reserved this room in advance and as a Hilton Diamond member, I would have thought that the staff read my request to stay away from elevators, ice machines and away from any other noise... apparently that didn't happen.

I barely slept that one night and in the morning I packed my bags and checked out. The front desk manager was apologetic and explained that they have many repeat customers who stay there, but I will not be one of them going forward... Although I got a complementary night for my troubles, it was a hard lesson learned.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, request a room that is not facing the distribution center located behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SysCntrSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are deeply apologetic that you had an unpleasant stay with us not to long ago.
We take pride in ensuring our guests have everything they need for a clean, comfortable stay at the HIlton Garden Inn Allentown Bethlehem Airport.

We do work closely with the trucking company located behind us and notify them when our guests experience overwhelming amounts of noise - we will definitely address your issues with them and hopefully, we can have their understanding for future guests.

Again, our sincerest apologies for an unsatisfactory stay at our property - We understand you are not interested in returning; however, I ask that you give us another shot and we will ensure your room is on the front side of the hotel, away from additional noise (elevator, ice machine, etc)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    178
    55
    25
    11
See reviews for
176
86
31
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I chose this property because I had a 6 AM flight out of Allentown Airport and it is one of the closest hotels to the terminal. From that aspect, this is a very good choice. They have a complimentary airport shuttle that runs on demand. For my 6 AM flight I asked for a 4:45 shuttle pickup. I was in the terminal by 4:50 and through security by 4:55. I only wish I could get away with that at LAX or other large airports!

The property itself is your typical Hilton Garden Inn. When I walked in, the first thing I saw was a bunch of tarps as they were busy renovating the lobby. It was quite noisy at the time, but that's just a temporary inconvenience and the front desk was very apologetic about the noise. I also thought the rooms could use some renovation. Mine looked a little on the tired side - nothing that was particularly off-putting other than it just seemed a little old. Still, it was a perfectly comfortable room and I would stay here again if I needed something really close to the airport.

I didn't try the hotel food, but if you've ever stayed in a HGI you know exactly what to expect for breakfast. There are a couple of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel which are good for dinner.

Bottom line is this is a great place to stay if you need something close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandrfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your feedback regarding our property.

You are correct - we are currently undergoing renovations - thank you for being patient with our appearance.

Our property is wonderful for early morning flights out of ABE - our shuttle service works out favorably should anyone want to leave their vehicle in our parking lot and not have to pay top dollar for parking.

Thanks again for staying with us - look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel had the most uncomfortable and sagging mattress I ever experience…..unacceptable for a Hilton hotel.
Also the room smell like cigarettes even thought it was a smoke free room.
Check-in & Check-in out was fine
Staff were friendly
Location is very Convenient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank MikeF991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We apologize for you unsatisfying hotel experience you had, while staying at our property. We do follow strict Hilton guidelines and only carry the approved bedding as requested by Hilton.

In the future, should you have an unpleasant smell, please notify us, as we have specific measures we can take in maintenance to rid you of the unpleasant smell.

Thank you for leaving us feedback - we will work to improve - we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I met my wife for a 5 night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The room was clean and the staff was excellent. My first floor room was across from the rear pool entrance and was VERY noisy. I admit we did not ask to be moved and just dealt with it. The bed was TERRIBLE. I have stayed in hotels all over the US and this bed was sad. It was suppose to be adjustable for firmness but nothing I did with the control on the bed helped or made any change at all. My wife visits me about once a month and we try to stay some place nice. Not sure this will get another chance. We tried the hot breakfast but it was very ordinary and quite expensive for what we got. There is a Waffle House within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding our property.

We apologize that you did not care for our beds - however, they are Hilton Brand Standard bedding and we follow strict guidelines to replace them every other year to ensure quality.

You will be happy to know, we are undergoing renovations at the moment and will be featuring some new menu items in our Great American Grille once the project is complete. Please consider trying our hotel out again, as we do strive make all of our guests satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was there on Business for a full week. Very Clean and fresh smelling room. Everyone was very friendly. Room Service was the Red Robin that is adjacent to the hotel. The food was good and they were quick to deliver.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding our hotel!

It is great to hear how positive your stay was with us - we do hope you come back and join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

First let me say, the staff here was wonderful. I requested a non smoking room and was given one on the first floor by the back entrance at first. We tried it out, but the room smell of cigarette smoke as did the lobby. I asked to be moved and we were moved to an upper level non smoking room, but the smell of smoke in the hallways was overwhelming. Had we not be able to open the window, I would have probably gotten sick from the smell and perhaps checked out.

Again, it is a shame because the staff was so nice and polite and helpful. I wish Hilton would do what Marriott have done and make all their hotels 100% non-smoking.

Room Tip: I would do upper floor away from the pool. Also a front room is better due to a truck stop in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I do apologize for your inconvenience at my property. I had my maintenance staff take a look at the ventilation of the building and they could not find any blockage of any kind. However, we did do a full investigation on the problem and we are confident we have resolved it. Im glad my staff was very helpful and kind as they always are. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice hotel and even helped me out when my flight got cancelled so 5 stars from me. Internet was great, the staff was real friendly and made it very easy. Staff was also very knowledgeable and just overal a real great place to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIABA, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our property!

It is refreshing to hear how well our staff was during your stay with us. We do hope you come back and stay with us again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
7.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
10.6 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection
1.4 mi away
Days Hotel Allentown Airport / Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport
Address: 1787B Airport Road, Allentown, PA 18109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Allentown
#2 Business Hotel in Allentown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the Lehigh Valley. Easy access to Routes 22, 33 and 78. Within one half mile from the Lehigh Valley International Airport. Complimentary Shuttle Service to and from the Airport. Full cooked to order breakfast and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport Hotel Allentown
Hilton Allentown
Allentown Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing