We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected”

America on Wheels Museum
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was in town for a basketball tournament and had a few hours before a game, so husband found this and wanted to go. I am not a car buff, but I found this museum really interesting and fun. There were a lot of cars from the 1930s on display when we went and it truly was a step back in time. Enjoyed seeing the old bicycles and motorcycles and seeing how vehicles evolved. I didn't expect to like it, but I truly did!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMarkM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    93
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went on opening day a few years ago, and enjoyed the atmosphere and what was on display.

Staff were very friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pacmania1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Car Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to America on Wheels for the first time and it was really fun. The people were all very friendly and the exhibits were well done. The cafe was great too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rfrankenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“From bicycles to Mack trucks....awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were blown away by the "vehicles" on display at this museum. It's a must see if you are in Allentown or Bethlehem (a short ride away). The staff could not have been nicer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Don't miss out on visiting this local museum which has great historic features - from Mack trucks to special exhibits - it brings back many memories of the Lehigh Valley and autos.

Helpful?
Thank frauha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed America on Wheels Museum also viewed

 

Been to America on Wheels Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing