We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, Your money's worth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown - Dorney Park Area
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, Your money's worth!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Overall it a great experience, great king size bed that makes you not want to ever get up, very clean and comfortable. My significant other and I stayed in a nice king suite with a whirlpool, the stay was very pleasant, it was very clean, room temperature was adjustable. The bathroom was very clean, I fell in love with the shower!! Well equipped, had enough towels for 10 showers a day! There was a blow dryer (for the ladies) its good for short hair, wouldn't really recommend it for long hair. We had an iron, fridge, microwave and coffe maker along with disposable cups and plates. Everything was great, except for one thing, make sure you ask housekeeping to clean the whirlpool, was a little disappointed to see that it wasnt really clean. There is complimentary breakfast from 8-10am, the food is great! BUT make sure you're there really early, the cafe gets packed pretty quick and trust me they stay there for those 2hrs so unless you want to eat in your room, I suggest you get up early and run to get breakfast! Lol but the stay was pretty great! Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mramos91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    94
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
47
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel was basicaly clean. I did get a good nights sleep. The room was set up nice and comfortable. I did have a few issues. The back door of building to parking lot was not locked and security pass key box was not there. The breakfast are was reallly small. We were not able to get in and get a seat for a family of three. We had to eat elsewhere. Again, if its for a short visit to the park and area, it suffices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folcroft, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is literally across the street from Dorney Park. This was a perfect hotel for our family of 8 (2 rooms) (Mom, Dad, 3 kids ages 5, 4 and 8 months, 2 grandparents and 1 aunt). So happy we decided to stay for our Dorney Park visit. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful from the moment we stopped by in the morning to purchase 1 additional park ticket at a discounted rate of $36.50 instead of the $49.50 at the door. No problem at all if you wanted to park your car at the hotel and walk over. We did leave one car at the hotel and paid the $15.00 at the park because of the little ones. HINT: Keep your parking receipt handy so that if you return later in the day you can place it on your dashboard for re-entry without a fee. HINT: They never checked out bags, etc. so you can bring in food and water without an issue. Wish I had known because the food is kind of pricey just like any other park. We did the smaller rides at Planet Snoopy and had no issue with the lines (we got there about 10:15 am). Keep in mind that Dorney Park personnel were EXTREMELY SAFTEY CONCIOUS and were very careful to see that each and every person was strapped, buckled, hooked on EVERY ride so you will need to be a little patient. They have something new called the Family Care Center for infants (air conditioned) so we took advantage of it and went in and fed and changed the 8 month old. They even provided rocking chairs, microwave, etc. Very nice! We headed over to Wildwater Kingdom about 2:00. What a welcome relief from the 95+ heat. They do have changing rooms available. A bit crowed but we managed to get a few chairs by one of the kids sections. Not a place where Mom & Dad can relax and let the lifeguards do their jobs as you really needed to stay with them to keep an eye on them.
Went to check in around 3:30 and had two rooms on the first floor. They even provided a crib. Rooms were clean and spacious. Ours was a handicapped room even though we didn’t require one. Coffee and fruit in the lobby area were provided 24 hours a day. When we left for dinner they even had a box of Otis Spunkmyers cookies available. The front desk even provided us with detailed directions to area restaurants. We opted for our favorite Outback Steakhouse and it was no more than 10 minutes away. After dinner we went back to the park for the evening (be sure to get your hand stamped before you leave for re-entry).
A little more crowed this time especially with the teenagers. Walked (ALL THE WAY to the far left corner of the park) to go see Dinosaurs Alive but decided it wasn’t worth the extra $5 a person. We did some of the older rides in that section along with some arcade games, etc. By 8:15 pm the sky opened up and we had a torrential downpour. They actually closed some of the larger (very, very large) rollercoaster rides earlier because of the lightening. The park was open till 12:00 but I don’t think I would have lasted anyway (I’m the Mom-Mom)!! We headed back to the hotel.
It is a very family friendly hotel so there were a lot of families out and about in the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that they had so much to offer for breakfast. Two types of omelets (cheese and western), toast, English muffins, biscuits, 4 types of cereals, cinnamon buns, yogurt, juices, milks, etc. The only issue was there weren’t enough tables and unfortunately there were two tables that were missing chairs completely. I don’t know whether a guest removed them or what but they were there the night before. Most people (and I say “most” lightly) ate and then quickly left so that other people could use what tables they did have. There were a few guests (with no manners whatsoever I might add) who just sat and sat and watched as people were holding their plates in their hands waiting for a table to open up.
I would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to others especially those with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Freebsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As others have mentioned - the location of this hotel is perfect for an overnight get-a-way to Dorney Park. The lobby is clean and good order. And the guest rooms are your standard Holiday Inn expected quality. Which is to say good / standard / clean - but lets face it - in no way "luxury". I don't mean that as an insult - just trying to set the right expectation.

A few other things I don't see mentioned much or at all:

#1 Buy your park tickets at the hotel. They are at a significant discount.

#2 Park at the hotel and then walk over to Dorney, save $15.

#3 The service at check-in was excellent. Good work.

#4 The breakfast was very good and substantial. A real plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaTaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here on trip to New Hampshire last week during summer heat wave of 100+ degrees. Checked in late and soon realized A/C was not working. Front desk said all rooms were booked and could offer no alternative at 12:30 am. Then realized the refrigerator wasn't working so our beverages were no longer cool. Needless to say, it was a miserable night. I took up issue with front desk staff the next morning. I asked for a reduction in the room bill for our inconvenience. The hotel manager, Joseph, had to get involved. After visiting the room, he returned to apologize for the situation and agreed to a reduced rate. The staff seemed to be genuinely sorry for the room situation and were helpful.

This is a clean hotel with nice room layout. Breakfast was good. I would recommend this Holiday Inn.....they know the meaning of service recovery to ensure they keep their customers happy when things go wrong.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pinhyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Road-Tripping Family
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great location for visiting Dorney Park - right across the street from the drop-off entrance. We had a theme park view (didn't request one, just were lucky enough to be assigned one). Very cool to watch the sun set behind the coasters.

Our room had 2 queens plus a sleeper sofa. A little tight but doable. Beds were extremely comfortable, the linens were so crisp & clean, and the air conditioning was ice cold. The fridge & microwave were a nice touch.

I appreciated the extra sink outside the bathroom but would have been nice to have a mirror there also. Plus, the sink was slow draining which was a little disgusting.

Bathroom was clean with more than enough towels. Bathroom floor, however, had a weird bump/ridge running the length of the bathroom. Very strange & a little disconcerting.

Ceiling had stains & a few patched spots.

The free breakfast had a decent selection of hot & cold items. Kids were happy with the choices. The coffee was hot & fresh.

Hotel is in the process of renovating. Not sure what changes are in store. Wish they had a pool.

Overall, a very comfortable stay. Would stay here again next time we are back at Dorney.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DEVikingsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is literally across the street from Dorney Park and makes your visit so easy. The staff from the point of making the reservation to check-in, purchasing Park admission tickets, etc are so helpful. The hotel room was a decent size, we had a 2 queen size bed room, and there is a sleeper sofa sitting area which gives you a bit more space. It is clean and the breakfast had a lot of choices. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#13 of 30 in Allentown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
4.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown - Dorney Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown - Dorney Park Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown - Dorney Park Area
Address: 3620 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Allentown
#3 Family Hotel in Allentown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown - Dorney Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Allentown PA. A 100% smoke free facility located just across the street from Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom. This conveniently located, clean and friendly hotel is located just off Interstate 78 at exit 54, just minutes from many Lehigh Valley businesses, attractions, shopping, golf, colleges and more. We are the closest hotel to the main gate at Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom!All rooms are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, 32' flat panel HDTV, as well as all the other amenities you've come to expect from Holiday Inn Express.Other Points of Interest: The Holiday Inn Express is also a short drive to: Crystal Cave, Lost River Caverns, Lehigh Valley Zoo, Lehigh Valley Velodrome, The Crayola Factory, Easton Museum of Pez Dispensers, Hawk Mountain Sanctuary, Cabela's (Outdoor Merchandise), Lehigh Valley Mall, Lehigh University & Stabler Arena, PA International Raceway, Bear Creek Mountain and to take the Lehigh Valley self guided Covered Bridge Tour. We thank you for your interests and would like to welcome you to 'Stay Smart' at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Dorney Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown - Dorney Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Allentown
Holiday Inn Express Allentown
Holiday Inn Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing