We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Good price, daily breakfast is provided, food is okay (bananas, toast bread, muffins, milk, coffee), room cleaning is splendid, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are available, staff are friendly except the manager (I think), overall good!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Sumofwhich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hello, Sumofwhich,

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location to Dorney Park and several restaurants. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 518 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

The sheets were stained and the front doors looked at though they were kicked in. The toilet wasn't stationary and the bathtub backed up when used. We reserved our rooms through Priceline over 2 months ago, because a family member was graduating from college. They put us in a smoking room and told us that we requested this option, even though it wasn't true, The parties occupying the two rooms have severe allergies to cigarette smoke. The hotel wasn't able to accommodate us with another room, but sprayed the rooms with Lysol, which made the smell of smoke even worst. There was only one person on duty, so they provide us with clean sheet and told us that we could make up our beds, ourselves. Please note, our family members who stayed in this hotels suites had much better accommodations. The rooms came equipped with two beds and a couch and the rooms were much cleaner. My advise to anyone is do not stay at this hotel, because it is a dive, There is a Holiday Inn less than a quarter of a mile away on the same avenue. The hotel is much cleaner and I'm sure you will be happy with your accommodations. They really should close down this Howard Johnson, because it is a potential health risk.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 217 & 219, especially if you are a non-smoker. Family who stayed in suites had much...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hello Robin,


thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We understand why you wrote such a negative and review of our hotel after your stay, however it is not accurate. You booked and prepaid your reservation through an online travel agent for two smoking rooms; we had exactly what you purchase. As a preferred Muhlenberg Alumni hotel, our rooms are always sold a year in advance for graduation. If we had rooms available, our staff would have been happy to have changed your rooms to non-smoking rooms. We value your business and opinion we would love for you to come back and stay with us again when you are in the Allentown area again. It is Dorney Park season bring the family and we will be happy to provide a free night stay. our Hotel has a newly upgraded pool, 37 inch new flat screen TV, competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, thank you for your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I do not think I could stay here longer than one night. The entire hotel smells like cigarettes, the walls are paper thin, the indoor pool was not available for use, and the little breakfast they had was not available earlier than 7am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kristopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

When reservation made hotel indicated they had a pool when we got their to check-in the pool was under construction and out of service. Hotel smelled like smoke, shower had very low water pressure and the ice machine on the second floor was broken. The best part of this stay was it was only for one day.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel AA should think twice about listing this as a AAA hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marggraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#16 of 30 in Allentown
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
5.1 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Allentown
7.4 mi away
Days Hotel Allentown Airport / Lehigh Valley
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney

Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: $65 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing