We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUGS!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS!!!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

$84 For a Night. Small Filthy Pool/Hot Tub!! Filthy Tub Stained Toilet Bowl!!. Torn Worn Mattress And Sofa Pull Out!!! To Top It All Off Bed Bugs!!!! And When I Confront The Manager I Was Told I Can Give You A Refund And Get Out!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingKi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    91
    93
    109
See reviews for
198
73
41
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

In my view, this hotel never disappoints. My preference, when staying at this hotel, is a suite, due to the close proximity to the pool and relaxing Jacuzzi. The size of a suite is perfect for my family of four, the kids are never underfoot! I'm always pleased with the internet connection, which also helps keep the kinds entertained. Our winter skiing trips and summer Dorney Park trips always lead us back to HoJo, our mini-vacation "home away from home". Staff and housekeeping are always warm and welcoming, remembering us from past stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrooveGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello GroveGirl

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. We appropriate you and your business thank you from the entire staff. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I would highly recommend this Howard Johnson locationt. The management and staff are very helpful and pleasant.its in a very convenient location with many attractions close by. we stayed here on an extended stay and found this to be an excellent choice.there is a Perkins restaurant next door and other food choices across the street as well.the front desk staff has always been quick to be receptive to any of my needs.if you're looking for a good value with a helpful staff this would be an excellent choice in the Allentown area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaJustrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello PaJustrelax,

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Well worth the money I spent. I had a reservation for a room with two beds. They were sold out of their "standard" rooms I was told. I didn't expect it to be so busy. I was upgraded to their suites for free, great customer service. Be sure to ask them for upgrades when you book with them.

They have a great indoor pool and the suites were right by the pool. We planned on going out for the night but after seeing this hotel, we just stepped out for a couple of hours and stayed in and relaxed in their toasty Jacuzzi.

Travel quite a bit to Allentown and this will be the place I will book with. When you book directly with them, they offered way better rates than Expedia which I usually use.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cranked4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello Cranked4fun,

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel was convenient to our destination. The room and bath were very clean and tidy, TV worked well, and we both had a good night's sleep. The breakfast was more than adequate and the coffee was some of the best hotel coffee I've had. A lot of places seem to make it on the weak side, but Howard Johnson was perfect. That alone would bring me back for another stay! Only one tiny complaint, the Wi-Fi was very slow, possibly because the rooms were sold out and everyone was using. However, this would not factor into our decision to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deva85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello Deva85

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. We just upgraded our WiFi to accommodate more people online. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel was pretty run down. I don't think the mattress has ever been changed, you could feel the springs in your back. On the second night, after being out all day I wanted to just sleep and there was a bed bug on my pillow!!!!!!!!!!!! I left as fast as I could and had to drive home. I was reimbursed for 1 night. They have no management on site on the weekend, so that's all the front desk people could do. First thing Monday morning, I will be working on a full refund.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located
Management is always on call during the weekend and front desk did call and discussed the issue with management ,you were given cash the front desk staff had available. On Monday Management did offer you a full refund for your stay. We do have a pest control company that does preventive maintenance, they will be able to let us know if the room had bedbugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My kids and I stayed here for an overnight trip to see some family in the area. We picked this hotel because it has an indoor pool. If this hotel was recently renovated it didn't look it to me. Overall I thought the hotel was pretty rundown and I wouldn't even consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Jim

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#13 of 30 in Allentown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Allentown
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Allentown
Sleep Inn Allentown
#9 of 30 in Allentown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Allentown Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing