We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a Duh-uh-ump!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like a winos live here by the week dump. Stay away. Broken bed, the room was last remodeled in the 80's, dirty, no toilet paper in the bathroom, styrofoam cups in the room, security door broken, when told the bed was broken and my wife has upcoming spinal surgery the staff said "sorry, nothing we can do, hope she feels better in the morning". Duh-uh-ump!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 537 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stated overnight here to rest driving to my final destination.
The lady who checked me in was very pleasant and even offered to find me a hotel where I was headed.
The hotel is clean, room clean, no problems what so ever and for the price a good deal.
The hotel is a bit older but if you are stopping to rest it won't be a bad choice.
I will stop here again if I go back trough the area.
The location was easy to get to and there are plenty of places to eat and shop right across the street!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floatmanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Only stayed one night at this place. Minor things that should have been corrected prior to check were not done. No TV remote, Safe was locked and couldn't be used, A/C/Heat fan did not operate when manually programmed, carpeting frayed and stained in the hallways and room Nothing terrible but they add up.

Room Tip: see the room first and check that it's adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoodyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank roaddoc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I showed up and everything seemed nice, until i got into my room. It was nothing like the photos. That was the first part of disappointing. After looking around and finding how dirty the room was including the shower, I Inspected more. Lifted the sheets and found a lot of hair.... They don't clean the sheets the just flip them. look behind and around the furniture, the place has never been properly cleaned. There is a 2 inch gap under the door so anyone could peer in. Also scuff marks are on the walls, pre used soap bars were tried to be pond off to us as new ones. I would not doubt that place is loaded with bed bugs!!! I left after 10 minutes, spent and extra $10 and had a great stay at the best western 5 min away. I got 2 queen size beds, a big flat screen, huge bathroom, and spotless clean! for $10 more a night then this garbage dump. I am not a hard person to please nor am I a high maintenance person, but this place was awful!! When confronted at the front desk, the lady seemed surprised.....well how about actually managing and take care of problems at your work, or just play dumb like she did. Do not wast your money here. You will be greatly disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkiiivento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

This guest did not stay at our hotel. Howard Johnson Inn & Suites is newly upgraded with New Bedding, Granite Counter Tops, New furniture and carpeting similar to Marriott Towneplace Suites. Management is Very helpful and highly rated by brand.

We have the only Heated Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi in the area as well as conveniently located near 25 restaurants and shopping areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room itself was tidy, new trash bags, fresh towels, etc. However, it obviously hadn't had a thorough cleaning in some time. It smelled a bit musty. Our blankets had small holes. The hallways showed the hotel's age. It is in need of an update. Paint everywhere was chipped. Walls dented. The pool area was dark. We were told upon booking that the pool was heated. I really don't think it was. The water was cold. The breakfast area is in the lobby. So with people coming in and out the front doors, it was freezing while eating breakfast!! So uncomfortable. And in the morning my husband tried killing a cockroach that got away from him. It scurried behind the bed's headboard. Yuck!! And the matresses weren't in any sort of plastic to protect against bed bugs. Upon pulling back our bed skirt, the boxspring was so dirty. We did not complain about anything. We just will never come here again. We got what we paid for. It fit our budget. But cleanliness should be priority for any hotel regardless of cost!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was horrible, the rooms were filthy, stains on curtains, the ceiling was coming down. And in the morning when I put the light on, i saw several roaches crawling on the walls by the sink. Would never go there again, nor would I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyssa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#16 of 31 in Allentown
215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
7.4 mi away
Days Hotel Allentown Airport / Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Allentown
5.1 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney

Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing