We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place is like a concentration camp. They have cameras all over the place, including one directed toward the bed! Staff is INCREDIBLY rude. The room I was given smelled like a locker room and was dirty to boot. I complained about the woman at the desk throwing a key card at me and I was told I misinterpreted the incident.
I could go on and on. Don't stay there, believe me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg18039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Howard Johnson managment aims to please and make sure all Guests arrive and depart with a smile. Our hotel features a highly professional staff and a newly upgraded hotel.
With respect to "GO GREEN", our hotel has energy sensors to reduce consumtion of energy when room is vacant. The motion, not a camera in the room, keeps with the Environment Policy. Please remove this review due to this isolated and mentally instable guest. As you can see, all our reviews are POSITIVE and our staff aims to KEEP ALL GUESTS HAPPY.

Thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 555 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

The pool was picture perfect. The jacuzzi was a great relaxer after walking all day at Dorney park.
Since we have 3 kids, I used the sleeper sofa which was much better than even the expensive hotels. We will be back with later this summer for a field trip with group. I would say the hotel is a good 4.5 out of 5.
The rooms were As good as a Marriott. The pool was better than a Marriott. The service was excellent. The price was best.

Recommend to all. Great stay great price and very friendly

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harish r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

for the price of the hotel pool is a mess,breakfast is poor the sofa bed was broken, definitely not return

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elys33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourStar1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

HOWARD JOHNSON has the Top 10 rated Features in Lehigh Valley. Our hotel prides itself on Feedback from Guest. As indicated with a majority of Positive comments, our hotel has one of the Best Hotels and Management Team which truly care for each perosn who stays at our hotel.
We would greatly appreciate a chance to discuss this matter with you and make sure your experience next time is PERFECT. Our new Indoor Pool is beautiful along with Jacuzzi. The Suites Feature new Pull out sofa beds which are working condition and Our breakfast is above Brand Standards which is greatly appreciated by Our Guests. A Hot Breakfast is available at a 10% Discount @ Perkins (adjacent). Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay with a heated pool open this time of year, for only one night, for 4 A and 1 C. One place was $169. that was too much for us so we called Howard Johnson. The staff was friendly and the didn't have a cot available so they offered to up grade us to a suite for the same low price. With a senior discount the total came to only $84. This included a wonderful breakfast or a discount if we went near by to a different resturant. The entire place was very clean and even provided towels at the pool and spa!! We are thinking of visiting Dorney Park, we will definately stay with Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Front desk staff was friendly and very helpful! Located in the perfect spot! Had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quackheadcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very friendly and helpful from directions (gave a handout with directions which was very handy and saved plugging everything into the GPS) and advice about surrounding attractions. Located in a central part of town and didn't seem far from anything.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsbdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a a great suite across from Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi. My room had new beds and was very spacious. I was able to work at the large desk by the window. The staff all worked with great pride because everyone always said hi and smiled. The manager was very friendly and so were the rest of the front desk. Hotel had great location and offered 10% discount off TGIF and just about each of the 20 places to eat across the hotel. I'm coming back for Dorney and will stay here again.

4 Stars all the way. See ya again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkosunam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#17 of 30 in Allentown
221 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Hotel Allentown Airport / Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Allentown
Sleep Inn Allentown
#8 of 30 in Allentown
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Allentown
Super 8 Allentown
#18 of 30 in Allentown
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney

Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: $56 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing