We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love visiting Indian Steps.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Steps Museum

Indian Steps Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Airville
Attraction details
Felton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love visiting Indian Steps.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff is knowledgeable. Great picnic areas. Great photo spot. I have great childhood memories here and it was neat to return to visit. I look forward to bringing our children here one day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank t123dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rural MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intersting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Maybe I was looking too much forward to the trip.

It was enjoyable, pretty scenery, nice drive to get there.

We went to the Indian festival weekend. That was pleasant. It would have been more fun if we'd had kids to enjoy the daytime activities.

No regrets, lovely photos (important to me), interesting tidbits. It was a pleasant afternoon outing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoloRuralMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequea Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

When you pull in the driveway/parking lot a sense of peace washed over me. I cannot say what it was in particular but all my problems dissolved that morning. With my 4 year old holding my hand we walked around the grounds, we saw a group making dream catchers....we were too late to sign up for the craft but it was okay with us.....we entered the museum greeted by a friendly man who instantly explained to us what to do in the museum. We walked through amazed at the wonders of the building...the uniqueness and the quiet charm. We learned a lot that day about the Susquehanna Indians that lived before us in the beautiful area. My son was amazed and surprisingly content and peaceful through the tour. I really have to say it was one of the best experiences of the summer. Please go here and see and learn, because the ancient people welcome you with open loving arms and bless your visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ANNIE2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Native American Heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nestled along the Susquehanna River, you will find this small, unique museum. Just to see the outside, is a wonder! It has thousand of arrowheads stuck into the mortar on the building. Inside, is even more to behold. Preserving the heritage of this great country is so important. We must not loose the history of our native ancestors who once walked the sure of the Susquehanna. The museum hosts special events throughout the year, such as pow wows. See the Native Americans in their regalia, sample traditional Native American foods, shops for jewelry and various other items, offed by vendors at these events.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesmalltownamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A little work to get a lot of enjoyment!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a small museum that is an adventurejust to get to. Once there, you are greeted with the hills and natural beauty that originally made York attorney John E. Vandersloot become smitten with this tract of land. His interest inspired him to purchase this property, its cabin and two smaller cottages nearby—the original Indian Steps “cabin.” While gardening at Indian Steps, Vandersloot unearthed arrowheads, stone tools, pottery, and many other native artifacts of the “long winding river.” He also gathered artifacts his neighbors shared with him, amassing a mighty collection. During the construction of Vandersloot’s “cabin,” more than 10,000 of these artifacts were embedded in the masonry walls to form Indian patterns, birds, animals and reptiles and tell the story of Indian inhabitants. Mr. Vandersloot had an idea….what better way of preserving his collection of artifacts than to construct a building that would “contain” it-in the fullest sense-by imbedding it in the walls?

The exhibits include over 10,000 Indian relics embedded in the outside walls, walkways and indoor floors and other parts of this great building, The Kiva Room (a reproduction of a chamber generally used by the Hopi Indians for secret religious assemblies and lounging), a central gallery dedicated to tracing the evolution of early Indians who lived by or passed along the nearby Susquehanna River, exhibits that show how the first human beings came to North America and how they eventually spread to the area we now call the Susquehanna Valley, hunting tools used by early people to hunt for food for their families are explained in detail, shards or parts of ancient pottery are also on display, clothing worn by Native Americans, numerous displays of artifacts found locally, along the shore and the fields which border the Susquehanna River, baskets and other forms of Indian handiwork, WPA Models and Dioramas, Holtwood Dam and Hydroelectric Facility, Susquehanna and Tidewater Canals, a room specially dedicated to John Edward Vandersloot and much more.
And be sure to walk the grounds. The tranquility of the Indian Steps Museum property is nestled in a quiet hollow along the Susquehanna River.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Steps Museum also viewed

Holtwood, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County

Been to Indian Steps Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing